G.R. No. 58445. April 27, 1989

ZAIDA G. RARO, PETITIONER, VS. EMPLOYEES’ COMPENSATION COMMISSION AND GOVERNMENT SERVICE INSURANCE SYSTEM (BUREAU OF MINES AND GEO-SCIENCES), RESPONDENTS.

Decisions / Signed Resolutions April 27, 1989 EN BANC GUTIERREZ, JR., J.:
Download PDF


GUTIERREZ, JR., J.:


Jurisprudence on the compensability of cancer ailments has of
late become a source of confusion among the claimants and the government
agencies enforcing the employees’
compensation law.  The strongly lingering
influence of the principles of “presumption of compensability” and
“aggravation” found in the defunct Workmen’s Compensation Act but
expressly discarded under the present compensation scheme has led to conflict
and inconsistency in employees’ compensation decisions.

The problem is attributable to the inherent difficulty in applying the new principle of
“proof of increased risk.” There are two approaches to a solution in
cases where it cannot be proved that the risk of contracting an illness not
listed as an occupational disease was increased by the claimant’s working
conditions.  The one espoused by the
petitioner insists that if a claimant cannot prove the necessary work
connection because the causes of the disease are still unknown, it must be
presumed that working conditions increased the risk of contracting the ailment. 
On the other hand, the respondents state that if there is no proof of
the required work connection, the disease is not compensable because the law
says so.

The petitioner states that she was in perfect health when
employed as a clerk by the Bureau of Mines and Geo-Sciences at its Daet, Camarines Norte regional
office on March 17, 1975.  About four years later, she began suffering
from severe and recurrent headaches coupled with blurring of vision.  Forced to take sick leaves every now and
then, she sought medical treatment in Manila.  She was then a Mining Recorder in the Bureau.

The petitioner was
diagnosed at the
Makati Medical Center to be suffering from brain tumor.  By that time, her memory, sense of time,
vision, and reasoning power had been lost.

A claim for disability
benefits filed by her husband with the Government Service Insurance System
(GSIS) was denied.  A motion for
reconsideration was similarly denied.  An
appeal to the Employees’ Compensation Commission resulted in the Commission’s
affirming the GSIS decision.

The following issues are
raised in this petition:

“1.  Whether brain tumor which causes are unknown
but contracted during employment is compensable under the present compensation
laws.

“2.  Whether the presumption of compensability is
absolutely inapplicable under the present compensation laws when a disease is not listed as occupational
disease.”
(p. 17, Rollo)

The key argument of the
petitioner is based on the fact that medical science cannot, as yet, positively
identify the causes of various types of cancer. 
It is a disease that strikes people in
general.  The nature of a person’s employment appears
to have no relevance.  Cancer can strike
a lowly paid laborer or a highly paid executive or one who works on land, in
water, or in the bowels of the earth.  It
makes no difference whether the victim is employed or unemployed, a white
collar employee or a blue collar worker, a housekeeper, an urban dweller or a
resident of a rural area.

It is not also correct to
say that all cancers are not compensable.

The list of occupational
diseases prepared
by the
Commission includes some cancers as compensable, namely —

“Occupational
Diseases

Nature of Employment

xxx                   xxx

xxx                   xxx

16.
Cancer of stomach and other lymphatic and blood forming vessels; nasal cavity
and sinuses

Woodworkers,
wood products industry carpenters, loggers and employees in pulp and paper
mills and plywood mills.

17.
Cancer of the lungs, liver and brain.

Vinyl
chloride workers, plastic workers.”

(Annex A, Amended
Rules on Employees’ Compensation)

The petitioner
questions the above listing.  We see no arbitrariness in the
Commission’s allowing vinyl chloride workers or plastic workers to be
compensated for brain cancer.  There are
certain cancers which are reasonably considered as strongly induced by specific
causes.  Heavy doses of radiation as Chernobyl,
USSR, cigarette smoke
over a long period for lung cancer, certain chemicals for specific cancers, and
asbestos dust, among others, are generally accepted as increasing the risks of
contracting specific cancers.  What the
law re­quires for others is proof.

The first thing that stands in the way of the petition is the law
itself.

Presidential Decree No. 422, as amended, the Labor Code of the Philippines
defines “sickness” as follows:

ART. 167.  Definition of
Terms.  – As used in this Title,
unless the context indicates otherwise:

xxx                            xxx                               xxx

“(1)    Sickness
means any illness definitely accepted as an occupational disease listed by the
Commission, or any illness caused by employment subject to proof by the
employee that the risk of contracting the same is increased by working
conditions.  For this purpose, the
Commission is empowered to determine and approve occupational disease and
work-related illnesses that may be considered compensable based on peculiar
hazards of employment.  (PD 1368, May 1, 1978).”

Section 1(b), Rule III of the Amended Rules on Employees
Compensation clearly defines who are entitled. 
It provides:

“SECTION 1.

xxx                            xxx                               .xxx

“(b)  For
the sickness and the resulting
disability or death to be compensable, the sickness must be the result of an
occupational disease listed under Annex “A” of these rules with the conditions
set therein satisfied; otherwise,
proof must
be shown that the risk of contracting the disease is increased by the working conditions.” (Emphasis supplied)

The law, as it now stands
requires the claimant to
prove a positive thing – that the illness
was caused by employment and the risk of contracting the disease is increased
by the working conditions.  To say that
since the proof is not available, therefore, the trust fund has the obligation
to
pay is contrary to the legal requirement that proof must be
adduced.  The existence of otherwise
non-existent proof cannot be presumed.

In Navalta
v. Government Service Insurance System (G.
R. No. 46684, April 27, 1988) this Court recognized the fact that cancer is a
disease of still unknown origin which strikes people in all walks of life,
employed or unemployed.  Unless it be
shown that a particular form of cancer is caused by specific working conditions
(e.
g. chemical fumes, nuclear
radiation, asbestos dust, etc.)
we cannot
conclude that it was the employment
which increased the risk of
contracting the disease.

To understand why the
“presumption of compensability” together with the host of decisions
interpreting the
“arising out
of and in the course of employment.” provision the defunct law has been stricken from the present law, one has to go
into the distinctions between the old work­men’s compensation law and the
present scheme.

On January
1, 1975
, the
Workmen’s Compensation Act was replaced by a novel scheme under the new Labor
Code.  The new law discarded, among
others, the concepts of “presumption of compensability” and
“aggravation” and substituted a system based on social security
principles.  The present system is also
administered by social insurance agencies — the Government Service Insurance System
and Social Security System — under the Employees’ Compensation
Commission.  The intent was to restore a
sensible equili­brium between the employer’s obligation to pay workmen’s
compensation and the employee’s right to receive reparation for work-connected
death or disability.  (Sulit v. Employees’ Compensation Commission, 98 SCRA 483
[1980]; Armena v. Employees’ Compensation Commission,
122 SCRA 851 [1983]; Erese v. Employees’ Compensation
Commission, 138 SCRA 192 [1985]; De Jesus v. Employees’ Compensation
Commission, 142 SCRA 92 [1986]; Sarmiento v.
Employees’ Compensation Commission,
et al., G. R. No. 65680,
May 11, 1988).

Instead of an adversarial contest by the worker or his family
against the employer, we now have a social insurance scheme where regular
premiums are paid by employers to a trust fund and claims are paid from the
trust fund to those who can prove entitlement.

In Sarmiento v. Employees’
Compensation Commission (supra), we affirmed the validity
of the new law by explaining the
present system
as follows:

“We cannot give serious consideration to the petitioner’s attack
against he constitutionality of the new law on
employee’s compensation.  It must be
noted that the petitioner filed his claim under the provisions of this same law.  It was only when his claim was rejected that
he now questions the constitutionality
of this law on appeal by certiorari.

“The Court has recognized the validity of the present law and
has granted and rejected claims according to its provisions.  We find
in it no infringement of the worker’s constitutional rights.”

xxx                            xxx                               xxx

“The new law establishes a state insurance fund built up by
the contributions of employers based on the salaries of their employees.  The injured worker does not have to litigate
his right to compensation.  No employer
opposes his claim.  There is no notice of
injury nor
requirement of controversion.  The sick worker simply files a claim with a new neutral Employees’ Compensation
Commission which then determines on the basis of the employee’s supporting
papers and medical evidence whether or not compensation may be paid.  The payment of benefits is more prompt.  The cost of administration is low.  The amount of death benefits has also been
doubled.

“On the other hand, the employer’s duty is only to pay the
regular monthly premiums to the scheme. 
It does not look for insurance companies to meet sudden demands for
compensation payments or set up its own funds to meet these contingencies.  It does not have to defend itself from spuriously documented or long past claims.

“The new law applies the social security principle in the handling of workmen’s
compensation.  The Commission administers
and settles claims from a fund under its exclusive control.  The employer
does not intervene in the compensation process and it has no control, as in the
past, over payment of benefits.  The open
ended Table of Occupational Diseases requires no proof of causation.  A covered claimant suffering from an
occupational disease is automatically paid benefits.

“Since there is no employer opposing or fighting a claim for
compensation, the rules on presumption of compensability and controversion cease to have importance.  The
lopsided situation of an employer versus one employee, which called for
equalization through the various rules and concepts favoring the claimant, is
now absent.  x x x.”

“The petitioner’s challenge is really against the desirability
of the new law.  There is no serious
attempt to assail it on constitutional grounds.

“The wisdom of the present scheme of workmen’
s
compensation is a matter that should be addressed to the President and
Congress, not to this Court.  Whether or
not the former workmen’s compensation program with its presumptions, controversions, adversarial procedures, and levels of
payment is preferable to the present scheme must be decided by the political
departments.  The present law was enacted
in the belief that it better complies
with the mandate on social justice and is more advantageous to the greater
number of working men and women.  Until
Congress and the President decide to improve or amend the law, our duty is to
apply it.” (at pp. 4, 5, and 6).

The non-adversarial nature of employees’ compensation proceedings
is crucial to an understanding of the present scheme.  There is a widespread misconception that the
poor employee is still arrayed against the might and power of his rich
corporate employer.  Hence, he must be
given all kinds of favorable presumptions. 
This is fallacious.  It is now the
trust fund and not the employer which suffers if benefits are paid claimants
who are not entitled under the law.  The
employer joins its employees in trying to have their claims approved.  The employer is spared the problem of proving
a negative proposition that the disease was not caused
by employment.  It is a government
institution which protects the stability and integrity of the State Insurance
Fund against the payment of non-compensable claims.  The employee; this time assisted by his
employer, is required to prove a positive proposition, that the risk of
contracting the disease is increased by working conditions.

The social insurance aspect of the present law is the important
feature which distinguishes it from the old and familiar system.

Employees’ compensation is based on social security
principles.  All covered employers
throughout the country are required by law to contribute fixed and regular premiums
or contributions to a trust fund for their employees.  Benefits are paid from this trust fund.  At the time the amount of contributions was
being fixed, actuarial studies were undertaken. 
The actuarially determined number of workers who would probably file
claims within any given year is important in insuring the stability of the trust
fund and making certain that the system can pay benefits when due to all who
are and in amounts fixed by law.

We have no actuarial expertise in this Court.  If diseases not intended by the Iaw to be compensated are inadvertently or recklessly
included, the integrity of the State Insurance Fund is endangered.  Compassion for the victims of diseases not
covered by the law ignores the need to show a greater
concern for the trust fund which the tens of
million of workers and their Families look for compensation whenever covered accidents, diseases, and deaths
occur.  As earlier stated, if increased
contributions or premiums must be paid in order to give benefits to those who
are now excluded, it is Congress which should amend the law after proper
actuarial studies.  This Court cannot
engage in judicial legislation on such a complex subject with such far reaching
implications.

We trust that the public respondents and the Social Security
System are continually evaluating the acturial
soundness of the trust funds they administer. 
In this way, more types of cancers and other excluded diseases may be
included in the list of covered occupational diseases.  Or legislation may be recommended to Congress
either increasing the contribution rates of employers, increasing benefit
payments, or making it easier to prove entitlement.  We regret that these are beyond the powers of
this Court to accomplish.

For the guidance of the administrative agencies and practising lawyers concerned, this decision expressly
supersedes the decisions in Panotes v. Employees’
Compensation Commission [128 SCRA 473 (1984)]; Mercado v.
Employees’ Compensation Commission [127 SCRA 664 (1984)]; Ovenson v. Employees’ Compensation
Commission [156 SCRA 21 (1987)] Nemaria
v. Employees’ Compensation Commission [155 SCRA 166
(1987)] and other cases with conclusions different from those stated above.

WHEREFORE, the petition is hereby DISMISSED.  The questioned decision of the public
respondents is AFFIRMED.

SO ORDERED.

Fernan, C.J., Narvasa,
Melencio-Herrera, Cruz, Feliciano, Gancayco, Padilla, Bidin, Cortes,
Griño-Aquino, Medialdea, and Regalado, JJ., concur.

Paras and
Sarmiento, JJ., dissents in a separate opinion.


Raro vs ECC : L-58445 : April 27, 1989 : J. Paras : En Banc : Dissenting<br /> Opinion

Clean

6 pt
6 pt
0
3

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Dissenting OPINION

PARAS, J.:

This is a petition for review on certiorari of the
decision dated August 27, 1981 of respondent – Employees’ Compensation
Commission (ECC) in ECC Case No. 1692 entitled “Zaida
G. Raro vs. Government Service Insurance System
(GSIS)”, which dismissed the claim of petitioner Zaida
G. Raro for compensation benefits under Presidential
Decree No. 626 as amended for her ailment diagnosed as “brain tumor.”

Petitioner assigns the following alleged, errors:

First

THE SYSTEM AND THE COMMISSION ERRED IN
HOLDING THAT BRAIN TUMOR IS ALLEGEDLY NOT A LISTED OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE, HENCE,
PETITIONER IS REQUIRED TO PROVE BY SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY
HER EMPLOYMENT.

Second

THE SYSTEM AND THE COMMISSION ERRED IN
HOLDING THAT BRAIN TUMOR WHICH CAUSE IS UNKNOWN CANNOT BE CAUSED BY THE NATURE
OF PETITIONER’S EMPLOYMENT.

Third

THE SYSTEM AND THE COMMISSION ERRED IN NOT
CONSIDERING BRAIN TUMOR AS A BORDERLINE CASE, HENCE COMPENSABLE.

Fourth

THE SYSTEM AND THE COMMISSION DISOBEYED THE
STATUTORY MANDATE THAT ALL DOUBTS
SHALL BE RESOLVED IN FAVOR OF LABOR AND IGNORED THE NATURE OF LABOR LAWS AS
SOCIAL LEGISLATIONS.

The undisputed facts, summarized by the Office of the
Solicitor-General, are as follows:

Petitioner was hired as clerk on March 17, 1975 by the Bureau of Mines and Geo-Sciences at
its office in Daet, Camarines
Norte.

In the course of her employment, petitioner contracted an ailment
which was diagnosed as brain tumor. 
Petitioner stopped working because of said ailment.

On January 7, 1980,
petitioner filed with respondent GSIS a claim for disability benefits under
P.D. 626, as amended.

On November 24, 1980,
respondent GSIS denied petitioner’s claim on the ground that brain tumor was
not an occupational disease.  Respondent
GSIS also denied petitioner’s motion for reconsideration.

On appeal, respondent ECC sustained the GSIS decision.

We find this petition
impressed with merit.

While “brain tumor”
is not expressly or specifically referred to as an occupational disease, and
while admittedly its precise causes are still unknown, We may say that the
disease is akin to “cancer of the brain” and should therefore be regarded
as either compensable or a borderline case.  At any rate, the precise work of the
petitioner at the Bureau of Mines and Geo-­Sciences consisted of the following:

“As Mining Recorder II, to record and file mining instruments and
documents in the Mining Recorder’s Section and to type correspondence and other
documents pertaining to the same action. 
(See Petitioner’s Brief, Rollo, p. 13).

It will readily be seen
that her work required at times mental concentration.  Whether this is specifically causative of
brain tumor is of course still unknown but doubts must generally be
resolved in favor whenever compensation for disease is concerned.  It would certainly be absurd to throw upon
petitioner the burden of showing that her work either caused or aggravated the
disease, particularly when both the GSIS and ECC profess ignorance themselves
of the causes of the disease.

Nowhere is this truism
more glaring than in cancer, the most dreaded of all diseases mankind has ever
known.  Held
the Supreme Court in the case of Acosta v. Employees’ Compensation
Commission
(L-55464, Nov. 12, 1981): “It is generally accepted that
the exact origin of practically all types of cancer
is not yet determined.  Scientists
and medical experts are still in the process of discovering the most effective
cure for the malady.  With this backdrop,
one should not expect ordinary
persons to prove the real cause of the ailment of the deceased when the experts
themselves are still in the dark.”

In a case like the
present one, even medical experts have not determined its cause, and therefore
the duty to prove does not exist for it is absurd for the law to require an
impossibility.  Thus in the case of
Mercado, Jr. v. Employees Compensation Commission, 139 SCRA 270 citing Cristobal v. ECC, 103 SCRA 329, We ruled as follows:

‘While the presumption of compensability and the theory of
aggravation espoused under the Workmen’s Compensation Act may have been abandoned under the New Labor Code (the constitutionality of such
abrogation may still be challenged), it is significant that the liberality of
the law in general still subsists.

“x x x As
agents charged by the law to implement social justice guaranteed and secured by
both 1935 and 1973 Constitutions, respondents should adopt a more liberal
attitude in deciding claims for compensability especially where there is some
basis in the facts for inferring a work connection, 103 SCRA 329, 336).

“x x x
Where however, the causes of an ailment are unknown to and or undetermined even
by medical science, the requirement of proof of any casual link between the ailment and the working conditions should
be liberalized so that those who have less in life will have more in law x x x.

“x x x The
point is that it is grossly inequitable to require as a condition for an award
of compensation that the claimant demonstrate that his ailment – the cause or
origin of which is unknown to and undetermined even by medical science – was,
in fact caused or the risk of contracting the same enhanced by his working
conditions.  Plainly, the condition would
be an impossible one, specially considering that said claimant is most probably
not even conversant with the intricacies of medical science and the claimant
invariably bereft of the material resources to employ medical experts to
demonstrate the connection between the cause and the disease.  Considering the liberal character of
employment compensation schemes, the impossible condition should be deemed as
not having been intended and/or imposed.  (139 SCRA, pp. 275?276).

“x x x As an
employee, he had contributed to the funds of respondent for 34 years until his
forced retirement.  In turn respondent
should comply with its duty to give him the fullest protection, relief and
compensation benefits as guaranteed by law,” (Ibid., p. 277).

In the more recent case
of Flaviano Nemaria,
[1] Petitioner versus Employees’.  Compensation Commission and Government
Service Insurance System (Ministry of Education and Culture), Respondents,
promulgated
October 28, 1987 and following the rule We enunciated in the
Mercado case, We st
ated:

“Thus the requirement that the disease was caused or aggravated
by the employment or work applies only to an illness where the cause can be
determined or proved.  Where cause is
unknown or cannot be ascertained, no duty to prove the link exists.  For certainly, the law cannot demand an
impossibility.”

PREMISES CONSIDERED,
it is my humble opinion that this
petition should be GRANTED.  The decision
of the respondent Employees Compensation Commission
should be SET ASIDE and another should be rendered ordering the
respondents to pay the herein petitioner the full amount of compensation under
Presidential Decree No. 626 as amended.


[1]
G.R. No. 57889


Raro vs ECC : 58445 : April 27, 1989 : J. Sarmiento : En Banc :<br /> Dissenting Opinion

Clean
Clean

6 pt
6 pt
0
3

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

DISSENTING OPINION

SARMIENTO, J.:

I do not think that the Labor Code intended to do away with the
“presumption of compensability” prevailing under the old Workmen’s
Compensation Act.  It must be noted that as
a social legislation, the Code is fundamentally a measure intended to afford
protection unto the working class.  If
any protection should be given to labor, it is in workmen’s compensation cases
that protection is a felt need.

The primacy that the majority would give to the integrity of the
trust fund “to which the tens of millions of workers and their families
look for compensation whenever covered accidents, diseases, and deaths
occur”[1]
is correct but, in my view, hardly the point. 
In granting the petitioner compensation, I do not believe we would have
dissipated substantially the State Insurance Fund, and considering the fact
that the petitioner is a victim herself.

It must likewise be noted that the petitioner is suffering from
cancer (brain tumor), whose cause medical science is yet to unravel.  It would then be asking too much to make her
prove that her illness was caused by work or aggravated by it, when experts
themselves are ignorant as to what brings it about.

I do not believe,
finally, that the q
uestion is a matter
for legislation.  Compassion, it is my view, is reason
enough.


[1]
Decision, 9.