G.R. No. L-26197. August 30, 1968

ADELO C. RIVERA, PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT, VS. SAN MIGUEL BREWERY CORPORATION, DEFENDANT-APPELLEE.

Decisions / Signed Resolutions August 30, 1968 CASTRO, J.:
Download PDF


CASTRO, J.:


Subject of this Resolution is
the appellant’s motion dated August 12, 1968 for reconsideration of our decision promulgated on July 20, 1968.  It
raises several points which we shall discuss
in
seriatim.

1. The appellant initially argues that the entire amount of P1,261.75 corresponding to his retirement benefit,
partakes of
the nature of a regular
compensation for his loyalty and efficien­
cy, citing NWSA vs. NWSA Consolidated
Unions et al
. (G.R. No. L-18938,
Aug. 31, 1964), and NDC vs. Unlicensed Crew Members of Three  Doña Vessels (PMIU)
and the CIR
(G.R. No. L-25390, June
27, 1968).

Worthy of note is the fact
that the cited cases involved the matter of gratuity or bonus, whereas the case
at bar concerns a
private benefit
plan by virtue of which the employer (appellee) pro­
vides sickness, disability, death and old age benefits for its
emplo­
yees (including the
appellant).  But even
assuming
that the appel­lant’ a
position is correct, that is, that his retirement benefit is in the nature of a compensation, still this will
not preclude the appellee
from effecting the corresponding deduction.  It is not denied that the amount of P1,261.75 is the whole
contribution of the appel­lee
company for appellant’s benefit to its private
plan.  In deducting
from the said amount
its (employer’s) contribution to the So­
cial Security System in behalf of the said employee,
the appellee company was merely exercising the right
granted to it
by section
9 of the Social Security Act.

Equally
off-tangent is PLDT Co. vs. Geturian et al.  (G.R. No. L­
–7756, July 30, 1955) because
involved therein is the question of whether a company can disregard at will the
pension plan which it
has
unilaterally set up.  In the case at bar,
the appellee company
does not seek to
disregard or discontinue its private plan. 
It merely asserts
its
right
to deduct from the
benefits accruing to the appellant under
the said plan what the law
says it may deduct– i.e., its contributions to the System in behalf of the said emplo­yee
(appellant).

2. The appellant next argues
that the appellee company’s
pension plan is a
unilateral contract which bestowed on him a ves­ted right to the entire amount of P1, 261.75 as retirement
benefit.  This is not quite correct.  Upon the happening of any contingency
(sickness,
disability, death or old age) provided
for in the plan, what vests in an
employee is merely the right to receive a retire­ment benefit, not in a specified sum, but in an amount
computed in accord with the provisions and conditions of the whole contract.[1]
Precisely, article XV of the private plan provides that:

“The benefits provided in these Rules shall be reduced by such
amounts as would be sufficient to compensate the company for its (i.e., employer’s) contribution for the account of each
emplo­yee to the Social Security System. 
* * *”

Thus, his retirement benefit was accordingly reduced by
P331.40
which
is the sum total of the appellee company’s
contributions for
his account to
the System.

Besides,
granting that the private plan assumed the propor
tions of a unilateral contract, then it is elementary that the perti­nent
provisions of the law should be read into it. 
One such provi­sion is section 9 of the Social Security Act which
commands the integration of private plans – existing and in force at the time
of compulsory coverage – with the plan of
the System “in such a
way that where the employer’s contributions to his
private plan is [sic]
more than
that required of him in this Act, he shall pay to the System only the contribution required of him and he shall continue his contributions to
such private plan less his contribution to the Sys­
tem so that the employer’s total contribution to
his private benefit
plan and to the
Social Security System shall be the same as
his
contribution to his
private plan before the compulsory coverage;
* * *”
[2]

3. The appellant next contends that section 9 of the Social Security Act does not authorize the reduction of
the retirement
benefit upon
retirement or at any time, but only
and immediately
upon the integration of the private
plan with the System, because it mentions the word contribution no less
than seven times.

A
searching scrutiny of the aforementioned section fails to
elicit any support for
the appellant’s contention.  The section
mere
ly
commands, inter alia, (1) the
integration of private plans with the System’s plan, and, (2) in case the
employer’s contributions
to his private plan are more than those required of him under the Social
Security Act, the payment by him to the System of the con­
tributions required of
him, and the continuation of the payment of
his contributions to the private plan less
his contributions to the
System.  There is no express or implied mention of the
need to make an immediate deduction
of his contribution to the System from
his contributions to the private
plan.  It would seem that this right to
effect deduction, granted by law to the employer, can be exer­cised by the latter at his leisure but before
payment to the emplo­
yee of What is due to the latter under the private
plan.

And
this is as it should be — for to compel the employer to make the deduction every time he pays the required premiums to the System, would be to constrain him to adopt
and maintain a
cumbersome accounting procedure.  Surely, our lawmakers did
not intend nor envision
this possible inconvenience to the employer. 
Indeed, where a right is granted, whatever is necessary for the proper and effective exercise of said right is
presumed to have
been granted likewise. 
Else, the right becomes inutile.

Nor
can we consider as a waiver the appellee’s omission
to effect immediate deduction.  Waivers are not presumed, but must clearly and convincingly be shown, either by
express stipu
lation or by acts admitting no other reasonable
interpretation.
[3]

4. The appellant insists nevertheless that there was no need for
the appellee company to adopt and incorporate article
XV into its private plan because there was
no reduction of the
monthly
contribution or amortization for the private benefit plan – considering that
exhibit A which is the statement of account of
the retirement benefits of the appellant duly rendered by the ap­pellee, does not show any such reduction, whereas
section 9 of
the Social Security Act provides, inter alia,

“* * * That any changes, adjustments, mo­difications, eliminations or improvements in the benefits
to be available under the remaining pri­vate
plan, which may be necessary to adopt by rea­
son of the reduced contribution
thereto as a result reduced of the integration,
shall be
subject to agreements between
the employers and employees concerned. 
*
* *” (emphasis supplied)

If the
appellant had taken a long look, he would have noted
that exhibit A mentioned the following:

“Less:  Employer’s
Contribution to the

Social Security System ……… P331.40.”

The above amount of P331.40 is
the sum total of the deductions
effected by the appellee from its contributions to the private bene­fit plan.  But the appellant tries to salvage his
untenable position by saying that the
reduction was made too late.  We have
shown the
emptiness of this argument in our discussion in no. 3 above.

5. The appellant’s argument
that, not being a party to the
collective bargaining agreement, he
cannot be bound by article XV of the Health, Welfare and Retirement Plan, was
sufficiently re­futed in our decision of July
20, 1968.

6. The appellant differs with our view that he would be en­riched at the expense of the appellee
company if he were allowed
“to
enjoy the full amount of retirement pay under the private plan
and all
the benefits due to him under the Social Security Act with­out spending any
single centavo,” and, conversely, if we were “to prohibit the Company from making the corresponding
deduction
from such benefits of its
contributions to the Social Security Sys­
tem, in behalf of the appellant.”

Does not the appellant stand
to gain two benefits — his retirement,
benefit
under the
company plan and that accruing to
him
under the System?  Did not the appellee company make
pos­sible his enjoyment of these
two benefits – the first, by setting
up unilaterally and maintaining single handedly its health, welfare
and retirement Plan, and the second,
by paying its employer’s
contributions to the System in behalf of the appellant?

The deduction of the amount of
P331.40 in this case
merely represents a
writing-off
of a superadded
liability, inasmuch as
payment of the
System premiums would otherwise impose upon
the appellee company a greater economic burden than that which
it vo­
luntarily assumed when it
adopted the private plan.  Otherwise
stated, the Social Security Act grants the
employer the right to de
duct its contributions to the System in
behalf of the employee in
order to
preclude the employer from shouldering
a double burden.

7. The appellant tries another
approach, and cites the fact
that the appellee
has provided in article XV of
the private plan that –

“* * * However, beginning with the Compa­ny’s contributions corresponding
to the month of
April, 1963 the Company’s contribution to the So­cial Security System shall no longer be deducted from
the benefits provided in these Rules,”

in support of his argument that the appellee
included this provision
because
it realized the unfairness of the situation.

We disagree.  That the appellee
introduced this proviso in
article XV is no admission, much less proof,
that the arrange­ment before April 1963 was unfair.  The appellant here commits the fallacy
of non sequitur.

Besides, the law (Social Security
Act, section 9) grants to the appellee the right to make the corresponding
deduction.  Whe­
ther or not the appellee exercises said right is entirely up to it.  That it decided to waive said right after
April 1963 is a
matter we cannot inquire into.

8. The appellant notes the
“harsh discrimination where he
now finds himself after all his years of loyalty, dedication and ef­ficiency,
to the very end of his good health.” He has not, however, offered proof that no deduction of the employer’s
contributions has
been mad from the retirement benefits of other
retirees similarly situated.

9. The appellant resorts to
less than fair argument when
he states that “Exhibit ‘A’ also shows
that the amount of P331.40 includes even the
period of April 1, 1963 to September 15, 1963,
and that deduction was still made on September I, 1963, despite Article
XV of the Health and Welfare Plan.”

This statement is clearly false because the
stipulation of
facts entered into by the parties states

“* * * That the amount of P311.40 representing the Defendant’s [appellee company] contribution to the Social Security System during the
period from September 1957 to March
1963
was deducted from Plaintiff’s [appellant] retirement benefits in accordance with Article 15 * * * of the Defendant’s [appellee]
Health, Welfare and
Retirement Plan * * *.” (emphasis supplied)

Well-settled
is the rule that where parties to an action submit a
case upon stipulated
facts, and there is no other evidence intro­
duced, they
are bound by the facts so stipulated.
[4] The facts agreed upon cannot be
contradicted, unless it is shown
that the admission
was made through a palpable
mistake.
[5] Here, the appellant
does
not
allege – much less prove – that a palpable mistake has led him
into agreeing to the
stipulation of facts.  He may not
therefore re
pudiate the stipulation of facts without the consent
of the appellee
or without leave of court on justifiable
reasons.
[6]

10. The appellant finally rehashes his argument that deduc­tion of the amount of P331.40 from his retirement
benefit is a vio­
lation of section 19 of the Social Security Act which
provides, in part, that –

“* * * Notwithstanding any contract to the contrary, an employer shall not deduct, directly or indirectly, from the compensation of his em­ployees
covered by the System or otherwise reco­ver from them the employer’s
contribution with respect to such employees,”

because – he maintains – the
word “otherwise” in this particular
section should be
interpreted in its broadest sense. 
Meaning,
stated elsewise, that any recovery from
the employees of the
employer’s contribution to the System with respect to such employees, would be illegal.

The
appellant’s interpretation of the abovequoted
provision of section 19 would create a conflict between said section and sec
tion 9 of the same Act, which states, inter
alia, that

“* * * [W]here the employer’s contribu­tions to his private plan is [sic] more than
that required of him in this Act, he shall pay to the System only the contribution
required of him and
he shall
continue his contributions to such pri­
vate
plan less his
contribution
to the System
so that the
employer’s total contribution to his private benefit plan and to the Social
Security Sys­tem shall be the same as his
contribution to his
private plan before the compulsory coverage.  * * *”(emphasis supplied)

For, whereas section 9 allows the employer to deduct his contributions to the System
with respect to his employees from his con­
tributions to his private plan, section 19 – according to the appel­lant’s
interpretation – prohibits this deduction because it would “otherwise” be
a recovery from the employees of the
employer’s
contributions to the System.

We
cannot subscribe to appellant’s
interpretation because
it
will create – where there
is clearly
none- a conflict between section 19 and section 9.  It is not the function of courts
to impute con­flicting intentions to the
legislature, unless such conflicting inten­tions
are shown by, clear and positive contradictory language.
[7] Hence, where two
constructions of a statute are possible, one of
which harmonizes the provisions of the entire act, the other creat­ing discord between different provisions, the former should be adopted.[8]

In
fine, we still hold that section 19 prohibits
any employer’s
scheme to make his employees shoulder his
burden of paying to
the System the employer’s contributions required by the Social Se­curity Act,
but it does not prohibit the employer from effecting the proper deduction from
his contributions to his private benefit plan.

ACCORDINGLY, the appellant’s motion for
rec
onsidera­tion dated August 12, 1968 is hereby denied.

Concepcion, C.J., Reyes, Dizon, Makalintal, Zaldivar, Sanchez, Angeles and Fernando, JJ., concur.


[1]
Hurd vs. Illinois
Bell Tel. Co., 136 F. Supp. l25. affirmed
  234 F. 2d 942, certiorari denied; Seybold vs.
Western Elec. Co., 77 S.Ct. 216, 352 U.S. 918, 1 L. Ed,
2d 124, rehearing denied 77 S.Ct. 352, 352 U.S. 977,
1 L. Ed. 2d 329.

[2]
See p. 4, Decision.

[3]
Ramirez vs. CA, 52 O.G. 779; Arrieta vs.
National Rice and Corn Corp., G.R. No. L-15645, Jan. 31, 1964; Jocson vs.
Capitol Subdivision, Inc., G.R. No. L-6573, Feb. 28, 1963; Fernandez vs. Subido, et al., 70 Phil. 151, 159; Toledo vs.
Saulog Tran­sit Corp., 59 O.G. No. 52, 8941,
8946.

[4]
Steveson & Co. vs. Collector of Internal
Revenue, 51 Phil. 178-183.

[5]
Irlanda vs. Pitargue,
22 Phil. 383.

[6]
Ortua vs. Rodriguez, 63 Phil. 809.

[7]
Medeiros vs. Soares,
61 P. 2d., p. 501.

[8]
People vs.
Rapini,
134
A.
L. R., p. 545.