🎧 Case Brief Lecture

EDUARDO P. LIM, PETITIONER, VS. NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS COMMISSION (FIRST DIVISION), AND BSM CREW SERVICE CENTRE (PHILS.), INC., RESPONDENTS.

September 14, 2012

← Read the full text of the decision

Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.

Lim versus National Labor Relations Commission

The Case

This is a petition for certiorari brought by Eduardo Lim, a seafarer who served as Chief Cook on an ocean-going vessel, against the National Labor Relations Commission and BSM Crew Service Centre (Phils.), Inc., the local manning agency that hired him for its foreign principal. Lim asks the Supreme Court to reverse the labor tribunals, which dismissed his complaint for permanent disability benefits, sickness allowance, reimbursement of medical expenses, damages, and attorney's fees. The case matters because it is a compact illustration of two rules every maritime labor practitioner must know: that compensable illness under the POEA Standard Employment Contract must be work-related and suffered during the term of the contract, and that the seafarer's failure to submit to the mandatory post-employment medical examination within three working days forfeits the right to claim disability benefits.

Procedural History

Lim filed a complaint before the Labor Arbiter for permanent disability benefits, sickness allowance, reimbursement of medical expenses, damages, and attorney's fees. The Labor Arbiter dismissed the complaint for lack of merit, holding that Lim failed to comply with the compulsory reporting requirement and failed to prove that his illness was work-related and contracted during the term of his contract. Lim appealed to the National Labor Relations Commission, which affirmed the Labor Arbiter's decision. His motion for reconsideration was denied. Lim then elevated the matter to the Supreme Court by petition for certiorari, imputing grave abuse of discretion to the Commission.

Facts

BSM Crew Service Centre (Phils.), Inc., acting for its foreign principal Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement, Ltd., engaged Eduardo Lim as Chief Cook under a nine-month employment contract. Lim left Manila on 17 March 2010 and boarded the vessel Ocean Elegance in Cuba on 19 March 2010. On 26 January 2011, he returned to Manila after completing his contract.

Lim later claimed that while on board, lifting heavy cooking materials, he sustained a fall after which he experienced severe chest pains, dizziness, and abdominal pain radiating to his right lower extremity. He said he reported his condition to his superior officers but was given only a pain reliever. He claimed he was examined at the ship clinic and later at a port clinic in Curacao, where he was diagnosed with cardiovascular disease and uncontrolled hypertension and advised to be repatriated. Upon arrival in Manila, he consulted a cardiologist, Dr. Josette Villanueva-Cristobal, who after two months declared him unfit for sea duties in any capacity, a finding confirmed by internist Dr. Eduardo Yu. He demanded disability benefits from the manning agency, to no avail.

The manning agency countered that Lim's repatriation was due to completion of contract, not to any medical reason; that he failed to prove he contracted any illness on board during the effectivity of his contract; and that he did not comply with the three-day mandatory post-employment examination. The records showed a Disembarkation Report dated 28 January 2011 stating that Lim disembarked due to completion of contract and would be available for re-employment in March 2011, with no indication of illness at disembarkation.

Issues

  • Whether or not Lim is entitled to disability compensation and other benefits under the POEA Standard Employment Contract.
  • Whether or not Lim's alleged illnesses were work-related and contracted or aggravated during the term of his employment contract.
  • Whether or not Lim's failure to submit to the mandatory post-employment medical examination by a company-designated physician within three working days barred his claim for disability benefits.
  • Whether or not the National Labor Relations Commission committed grave abuse of discretion in affirming the dismissal of Lim's complaint.

Applicable Provisions

Paragraphs 1 and 3 of Section 20(B) of the POEA Standard Employment Contract provide:

B. COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS FOR INJURY OR ILLNESS The liabilities of the employer when the seafarer suffers work-related injury or illness during the term of his contract are as follows x x x x x x upon sign off from the vessel for medical treatment, the seafarer is entitled to sickness allowance equivalent to his basic wage until he is declared fit to work or the degree of permanent disability has been assessed by the company-designated physician but in no case shall this period exceed one-hundred twenty (120) days. For this purpose, the seafarer shall submit himself to a post-employment medical examination by a company-designated physician within three working days upon his return except when he is physically incapacitated to do so, in which case a written notice to the agency within the same period is deemed as compliance. Failure of the seafarer to comply with the mandatory reporting requirement shall result in his forfeiture of the right to claim the above benefits.

This provision fixes both the substantive condition of employer liability, a work-related injury or illness during the term of the contract, and the procedural condition of the three-day post-employment examination, whose breach results in forfeiture of the claim.

Ruling

On the first issue, the Court held that the employer is liable only when the seafarer sustained a work-related injury or illness during the term of employment. Lim failed to establish that he contracted his illness on board the vessel and during his employment. The Master's report and the vessel's log of medical complaints contained no account of any injury or illness, and Lim adduced no evidence that he was examined at the port clinic in Curacao or by a ship's physician. The Court stressed that one who alleges must support the allegation with substantial evidence, and that self-serving and unsubstantiated declarations cannot establish a case before quasi-judicial bodies.

On the second issue, the Court echoed the Commission's finding that Lim was repatriated due to completion of contract, not to any medical condition, as shown by the Disembarkation Report.

On the third issue, the Court held that the three-day post-employment examination is mandatory. If the seafarer is physically incapacitated, he must submit a written notice to the manning agency within the same period. The unexplained omission of this requirement bars the filing of a claim for disability benefits. The records were devoid of any showing that Lim reported to the manning agency or gave written notice. Even assuming he was repatriated for medical reasons, he should have reported to the company-designated physician and not to his physician of choice; by failing to do so, he deprived the employer of the opportunity to assess his condition and issue a disability grading.

On the fourth issue, the Court found no grave abuse of discretion in the Commission's affirmance, as the denial of the claim was valid, just, and reasonable, based on applicable laws and prevailing jurisprudence. The Court acknowledged that strict rules of evidence do not apply in compensation claims, but it could not altogether disregard the mandatory provisions of the law.

Doctrine

For a seafarer to recover under the POEA Standard Employment Contract, he must prove by substantial evidence that he suffered a work-related injury or illness during the term of his employment contract. The employer's liability arises only from a work-related injury or illness sustained during the effectivity of the contract.

The seafarer must submit himself to a post-employment medical examination by a company-designated physician within three working days upon his return; if physically incapacitated, a written notice to the agency within the same period is deemed compliance. Failure to comply with this mandatory reporting requirement results in forfeiture of the right to claim the benefits. The seafarer cannot substitute his physician of choice for the company-designated physician, because doing so deprives the employer of the opportunity to assess his condition and issue a disability grading.

Self-serving and unsubstantiated declarations are insufficient to establish a claim before quasi-judicial bodies, where the quantum of evidence is substantial evidence. While strict rules of evidence are not applicable in compensation claims, the mandatory provisions of the law cannot be altogether disregarded.

Disposition

The Supreme Court dismissed the petition for certiorari, and the denial of Lim's claim for disability benefits and other monetary awards stood.

Remember This

Memorize this line: the three-day post-employment examination by a company-designated physician is mandatory, and its unexplained omission forfeits the seafarer's right to disability benefits. Examiners use this case to test the requisites of compensability under the POEA Standard Employment Contract and the consequences of a seafarer's failure to comply with the mandatory reporting requirement.