ARSENIA LACATAN-NUÑEZ, PETITIONER, VS. WORKMEN’S COMPENSATION COMMISSION, CANLUBANG SUGAR ESTATE, RESPONDENTS.
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Lacatan-Nuñez versus Workmen's Compensation Commission
The Case
This is a petition for review on certiorari brought by Arsenia Lacatan-Nuñez, in her own behalf and in forma pauperis, against the Workmen's Compensation Commission and Canlubang Sugar Estate. The widow of a deceased locomotive driver asks the Supreme Court to reverse the Commission's denial of death compensation benefits under the Workmen's Compensation Act. The case matters because it fixes when the two-year period for death benefits begins to run, and because it shows the outer limit of the liberal interpretation that social legislation commands.
Procedural History
The widow filed her claim for death compensation benefits with the Regional Office of the Department of Labor in San Pablo City. The Acting Referee rendered a decision granting disability benefits but declaring that death benefits could not be granted, because the employee had died beyond the two-year period counted from his disability or retirement. The private respondent filed a petition for reconsideration and or review, which was treated as an appeal and elevated to the Workmen's Compensation Commission. The Commission reversed the Acting Referee and dismissed the claim in its entirety. From that decision, the widow came to the Supreme Court by petition for review on certiorari.
Facts
Victorino Nuñez worked for Canlubang Sugar Estate as a locomotive driver earning 325 pesos a month. On February 22, 1967, he could not continue working because of severe headache and dizziness. Three days later he developed paralysis of the left half of his body and the right half of his face, with inability to speak and eat properly, and his left upper extremity was completely paralyzed. Complete recovery being impossible, he was retired from the service on March 16, 1967, for cerebral apoplexy, that is, stroke. He was then 65 years old, with eighteen years and six months of service.
On December 31, 1970, three years and nine months after his retirement, Victorino died of a bleeding peptic ulcer. On August 13, 1973, the widow filed her claim for death compensation benefits.
Canlubang Sugar Estate controverted the claim on three grounds: that it was filed beyond the reglementary period; that the death was not work-connected, having occurred nearly four years after separation from service; and that retirement benefits amounting to 6,012 pesos and 50 centavos had already been paid to the heirs as of March 16, 1967.
Issues
- Whether or not the illness which caused the death of the petitioner's husband was work-connected, so as to entitle her to death compensation benefits.
- Whether or not the two-year period under Section 8 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, counted from the employee's retirement or disability, had already lapsed at the time of his death.
- Whether or not the widow may recover disability benefits for the period from the cessation of work to the time of death.
Applicable Provisions
Section 8 of the Workmen's Compensation Act governs the award of death benefits, and the Court reads it as requiring that death from a work-connected disease occur within two years from the sickness:
Under Section 8 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, it is required that before death benefits can be awarded to the heirs of a deceased employee, the death of the employee due to a work-connected disease, must occur within two (2) years from such sickness.
This provision is decisive because the employee died more than three years after his retirement, beyond the period the law allows.
Ruling
On the first issue, the Court acknowledged that the Workmen's Compensation Act is social legislation, to be interpreted liberally in favor of laborers in keeping with the social justice guarantee of the Constitution. It said it tried hard to find a factual and legal basis to decide for the widow, but its efforts were in vain. The Court held that to hold the employer liable, it must be shown that the death was linked to the employment, and the only possible link would be proof that the employee suffered the illness during his employment. His illness was hypertension due to arteriosclerosis, and death from a bleeding peptic ulcer almost four years after retirement is not proximate. The petitioner's argument that no blood chemistry examination was taken at retirement, giving rise to a presumption of work-connection, did not persuade the Court.
On the second issue, the Court held that the two-year period is counted from the time of the aggravation of the ailment, or the time the employee was forced to stop working or became physically disabled to work. Since Victorino stopped working and became physically disabled upon his retirement, the period ran from that date. He died on December 31, 1970, more than two years after his retirement, so no death benefits could be granted.
On the third issue, the Court held that the claim for disability benefits had no legal basis, because when the employee retired by reason of old age at 65, the employer-employee relationship was terminated, and absent that tie the grant of compensation benefits cannot be justified. Disability compensation represents lost or unpaid earnings and becomes due only from the time earning power is lost or impaired, and the liability subsists only until the employee is actually separated from service.
Doctrine
Death benefits under Section 8 of the Workmen's Compensation Act may be awarded only if the employee's death from a work-connected disease occurs within two years from such sickness. That two-year period is counted from the time of the aggravation of the employee's ailment, or from the time he was forced to stop working or became physically disabled to work. The liberality owed to social legislation cannot supply a work-connection that the facts do not show, nor extend a period that the law has fixed. Finally, disability compensation accrues only while the employer-employee relationship subsists, and it ceases upon the employee's separation from service.
Disposition
The Supreme Court affirmed the decision of the Workmen's Compensation Commission and denied the widow's claim for death compensation benefits.
Remember This
Memorize this line: the two-year period for death benefits runs from the aggravation of the ailment or the time the employee was forced to stop working, not from the date of death. Examiners use this case to test the limits of liberal interpretation in social legislation, and to test whether you know that disability compensation ends when the employer-employee relationship ends.