🎧 Case Brief Lecture

CAREER PHILS. SHIPMANAGEMENT, INC., CMA SHIPS UK LIMITED, AND SAMPAGUITA D. MARAVE, PETITIONERS, VS. JOHN FREDERICK T. TIQUIO, RESPONDENT.

G.R. No. 241857. June 17, 2019 June 17, 2019

← Read the full text of the decision

Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.

Career Philippines Shipmanagement versus Tiquio

The Case

This is a labor case about an overseas seafarer, John Frederick Tiquio, who fell ill while on board a vessel and later claimed total and permanent disability benefits from his employers, Career Philippines Shipmanagement, its foreign principal CMA Ships UK Limited, and the agency's officer Sampaguita Marave. Tiquio was hired as an ordinary seaman, suffered high fever, nausea, and vomiting during the term of his contract, was medically repatriated, and was eventually diagnosed with hyperthyroidism secondary to Graves' Disease. The case matters because it is the Supreme Court's clean statement of the mandatory character of the third-doctor conflict-resolution procedure under the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration Standard Employment Contract, and of the burden a seafarer carries in proving the compensability of an occupational disease. It teaches the bar candidate the difference between a work-relatedness presumption and a full grant of benefits, and it shows how a prematurely filed complaint collapses on that procedural ground alone.

Procedural History

Tiquio filed a complaint for disability benefits, reimbursement of medical and hospital expenses, moral and exemplary damages, and attorney's fees before the Labor Arbiter. The Labor Arbiter ruled in his favor, found his Graves' Disease and hyperthyroidism to be work-related and compensable, and ordered the employers to pay the equivalent of sixty thousand United States dollars as permanent disability benefits plus ten percent attorney's fees, while denying his other claims for lack of basis.

The employers appealed to the National Labor Relations Commission. The Commission set aside the Labor Arbiter's decision and dismissed the complaint. It gave no credence to the medical certificate of Tiquio's own doctor, noting that it merely summarized the history of the illness and a brief examination, and that it was presented only three months after the complaint was filed. It held that Tiquio failed to comply with the conflict-resolution procedure under the Standard Employment Contract, and that his complaint was therefore prematurely filed. It denied his motion for reconsideration.

Tiquio then filed a petition for certiorari before the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals granted the petition, reinstated the Labor Arbiter's decision, and agreed that the illness was work-related and that the requisites for compensability had been met. It denied the employers' motion for reconsideration. The employers then came to the Supreme Court by petition for review on certiorari.

Facts

On November 14, 2012, Career Philippines Shipmanagement, acting for CMA Ships UK Limited, hired Tiquio as an ordinary seaman under a nine-month employment contract. He embarked on the vessel CMA CGM Hydra on November 16, 2012. On June 17, 2013, while the vessel was en route to France, he suffered high fever, nausea, and vomiting, and his condition worsened despite medication.

He was sent to an offshore clinic in France on June 28, 2013, where he was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism and recommended for repatriation for proper medical treatment. He was medically repatriated on June 29, 2013 and immediately referred to the seamen's hospital, where the company-designated physician, Dr. Jay Fonte, diagnosed him with hyperthyroidism secondary to Graves' Disease. He underwent medical treatment for about a year. On June 23, 2014, Dr. Fonte issued a medical certification stating that Tiquio's status after radioactive iodine therapy showed persistence of symptoms, referring him for repeat therapy, reiterating that he was unfit for work, and declaring that his illness was not work oriented.

On September 1, 2014, Tiquio filed his complaint. Only on December 16, 2014, in a rejoinder, did he present a medical certificate dated December 3, 2014 from Dr. Amado San Luis, a neurosurgeon, declaring him permanently incapacitated to work as an ordinary seaman and his illness work-related. The company-designated physician, an endocrinologist, had assessed him as unfit for sea duty well within the one hundred twenty day period, with an illness requiring lifetime treatment with hormone replacement and no applicable disability grading, and that assessment remained consistent throughout his treatment.

Issues

  • Whether or not the Court of Appeals correctly declared Tiquio entitled to total and permanent disability benefits.
  • Whether or not Tiquio's failure to refer the conflicting medical assessments to a third doctor under the conflict-resolution procedure of the Standard Employment Contract bars his claim and renders his complaint premature.
  • Whether or not Tiquio proved compliance with the conditions for compensability of an occupational disease.

Applicable Provisions

Section 20 of the 2010 Philippine Overseas Employment Administration Standard Employment Contract, which governs compensation and benefits for a work-related injury or illness suffered during the term of the contract, provides in its relevant part:

If a doctor appointed by the seafarer disagrees with the assessment, a third doctor may be agreed jointly between the Employer and the seafarer. The third doctor's decision shall be final and binding on both parties.

This is the conflict-resolution mechanism whose non-observance the Court treats as fatal to the seafarer's claim.

Section 32-A of the same Contract provides:

For an occupational disease and the resulting disability or death to be compensable, all of the following conditions must be satisfied: The seafarer's work must involve the risks described herein; The disease was contracted as a result of the seafarer's exposure to the described risks; The disease was contracted within a period of exposure and under such other factors necessary to contract it; and There was no notorious negligence on the part of the seafarer.

These are the four conditions the seafarer must prove, and the Court finds Tiquio failed to establish them.

Ruling

On the first issue, the Court held that the petition is meritorious and that the Court of Appeals erroneously ascribed grave abuse of discretion to the National Labor Relations Commission. Reviewing the Commission's ruling for grave abuse of discretion, the Court asked only whether its findings rested on substantial evidence and the applicable law, and found that they did.

On the second issue, the Court held that Tiquio failed to comply with the prescribed procedure for the joint appointment of a third doctor when his personal doctor disagreed with the company-designated physician. The Court reiterated the settled rule that non-compliance with the mandated conflict-resolution procedure militates against the seafarer's claims, results in the affirmance of the company-designated physician's findings, and renders the complaint premature. The Court stressed that when Tiquio filed his complaint he had not yet even obtained a contrary opinion from a doctor of his choice, and that nothing showed he had consulted that doctor or informed his employers before filing. It also rejected the claim of waiver, since the employers had manifested willingness to refer the matter to a third doctor during the mandatory conferences. The exception for the absence of a final assessment within the prescribed periods did not apply, because the company-designated physician had made a definitive assessment well within the one hundred twenty day period.

On the third issue, the Court held that Tiquio failed to prove the four conditions for compensability, quoting its earlier ruling that no legal presumption of compensability is accorded in favor of the seafarer and that he bears the burden of proving that these conditions are met. It found his illness to be an autoimmune disorder whose known risk factors include genetics, weight, certain medications, smoking, ethnicity, gender, age, and emotional or physical stress. Against the expert assessment of the endocrinologist, Tiquio offered only the certificate of a neurologist, not an expert on the disease, based on a single encounter.

Doctrine

First, the entitlement of overseas seafarers to disability benefits is governed not only by medical findings but also by law and contract, principally the Standard Employment Contract deemed incorporated in every seafarer's contract of employment. Second, when the seafarer's doctor disagrees with the company-designated physician, the parties must jointly agree on a third doctor whose decision is final and binding; non-compliance with this procedure militates against the seafarer's claims, affirms the company-designated physician's assessment, and renders a complaint filed without it premature. Third, the exception arises only where the company-designated physician fails to issue a final and definitive assessment within the prescribed periods. Fourth, while work-relatedness of a non-listed illness is disputably presumed, no legal presumption of compensability exists; the seafarer must still prove all four conditions under Section 32-A of the Standard Employment Contract.

Disposition

The Supreme Court granted the employers' petition, set aside the Court of Appeals' decision and resolution, and reinstated the National Labor Relations Commission's dismissal of Tiquio's complaint.

Remember This

Memorize this line: failure to submit the conflicting assessments to a third doctor under the Standard Employment Contract affirms the company-designated physician's findings and makes the seafarer's complaint premature. Examiners use this case to test the third-doctor rule, the premature-filing doctrine, and the burden of proving the Section 32-A conditions for an occupational disease.