BAHIA SHIPPING SERVICES, INC. AND FRED. OLSEN CRUISE LINES, PETITIONERS, VS. ROBERTO F. CASTILLO, RESPONDENT.
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Bahia Shipping Services, Incorporated versus Castillo
The Case
This is a petition for review on certiorari brought by the shipping company and its foreign principal against a former seafarer who was awarded disability benefits. The case concerns two distinct but related questions: first, the correct reglementary period for appealing a voluntary arbitrator's decision to the Court of Appeals, and second, whether a laundryman who suffered a back injury while reaching for a napkin is entitled to permanent total disability benefits under his collective bargaining agreement or under the standard employment contract for seafarers. This case matters because it clarifies the interplay between the Labor Code, the Rules of Court, and the POEA Standard Employment Contract in determining both procedural remedies and substantive disability claims for seafarers.
Procedural History
The seafarer's claim for disability benefits was first brought to the National Conciliation and Mediation Board after grievance proceedings were declared deadlocked. The parties submitted the case to a Panel of Voluntary Arbitrators, which ruled in favor of the seafarer and ordered the shipping company and its principal to pay him ninety thousand US dollars as disability benefits plus ten percent attorney's fees. The petitioners moved for reconsideration, which was denied.
The petitioners then appealed to the Court of Appeals, which dismissed the appeal as belatedly filed. The appellate court applied the ten-day period under Article 276-A of the Labor Code, as interpreted in an earlier case, and held that the failure to perfect the appeal within that period rendered the voluntary arbitrator's decision final and executory. The petitioners moved for reconsideration, which was also denied, prompting them to elevate the matter to the Supreme Court via a petition for review on certiorari.
Facts
The seafarer was hired as a laundryman for a cruise ship for a period of nine months. His employment contract was patterned after and approved in accordance with the POEA Standard Employment Contract, and it was covered by a collective bargaining agreement between the cruise line and a Norwegian seafarers union. After being certified fit for duty in a pre-employment medical examination, he embarked on the vessel in March 2013.
In November 2013, while performing his duties, he leaned forward to reach for a table napkin about four feet down in a cart. He suddenly felt a click on his back and began to suffer from back pain. He was treated with painkillers but his condition persisted until he could no longer stand. He was sent ashore, examined by a physician in Germany, and found to have degenerative end plate changes due to spondylolisthesis. After serving eight months and one week of his nine-month contract, he was declared unfit to work and repatriated.
Upon arrival, he was placed under the care of the company-designated physician and underwent a surgical procedure called transforaminal lumbar interbody fusion. Despite the procedure and continuous physiotherapy, he was not restored to his former health. He sought treatment from another physician who declared him permanently unfit to resume sea duties in any capacity. When the petitioners refused to pay disability benefits under the collective bargaining agreement, arguing that no accident had occurred during his employment, the seafarer initiated grievance proceedings that eventually reached the Panel of Voluntary Arbitrators.
Issues
- Whether or not the petitioners' appeal to the Court of Appeals was timely filed.
- Whether or not the seafarer is entitled to permanent total disability benefits under the collective bargaining agreement or under the POEA Standard Employment Contract, and whether he is entitled to attorney's fees.
Applicable Provisions
Article 262-A of the Labor Code, as amended, provides the remedy of appeal from the decisions of voluntary arbitrators. The Court quoted the relevant portion:
The Secretary of Labor and Employment, the Chairman of the National Conciliation and Mediation Board, or the voluntary arbitrator panel, as the case may be, shall have the power to hear and decide all issues in a labor dispute, including claims for actual, moral, exemplary and other forms of damages, attorney's fees and other affirmative reliefs. The decisions of the voluntary arbitrator panel shall be final and executory after ten (10) calendar days from receipt of the copy of the decision by the parties, and shall not be subject to appeal to any court or agency except through a petition for review on certiorari under Rule 65 of the Rules of Court.
This provision bears on the first issue because the Court had to determine whether the ten-day period refers to the filing of a motion for reconsideration or to the perfection of an appeal to the Court of Appeals.
Section 4 of Rule 43 of the Rules of Court provides the period for filing a petition for review from decisions of quasi-judicial agencies. The Court applied this rule in resolving the timeliness of the appeal.
Section 20(B) of the 2000 POEA Amended Standard Terms and Conditions governs the compensation and benefits for injury or illness suffered by a seafarer during the term of his contract. The Court quoted paragraph 6 of that section:
In case of permanent total or partial disability of the seafarer caused by either injury or illness the seafarer shall be compensated in accordance with the schedule of benefits enumerated in Section 32 of this Contract. Computation of his benefits arising from an illness or disease shall be governed by the rates and the rules of compensation applicable at the time the illness or disease was contracted.
This provision bears on the second issue because it determines the amount of disability benefits to which the seafarer is entitled under the standard employment contract.
Article 2208 of the New Civil Code provides for the recovery of attorney's fees in certain actions. The Court quoted paragraph 8 of that article:
In the absence of stipulation, attorney's fees and expenses of litigation, other than judicial costs, cannot be recovered, except: x x x (8) In actions for indemnity under workmen's compensation and employer's liability laws.
This provision bears on the award of attorney's fees to the seafarer who was constrained to litigate to recover his disability benefits.
Ruling
On the first issue, the Court ruled that the appeal was timely filed. The Court clarified that the ten-day period under Article 262-A of the Labor Code should be understood as the period within which the party adversely affected by the ruling of the voluntary arbitrators may file a motion for reconsideration. Only after the resolution of that motion may the aggrieved party appeal to the Court of Appeals by filing a petition for review within fifteen days from notice under Section 4 of Rule 43 of the Rules of Court. Since the petitioners filed their appeal exactly fourteen days from receipt of the denial of their motion for reconsideration, the appeal was timely.
On the second issue, the Court ruled that the seafarer is not entitled to disability benefits under the collective bargaining agreement because that agreement only covers injuries resulting from accidents. The Court defined an accident as an unintended and unforeseen injurious occurrence, something that does not occur in the usual course of events. The Court held that leaning forward to reach for a napkin, like carrying heavy objects, can cause back injury as a matter of common knowledge. The click on the seafarer's back was not an accident, and his condition was found to be degenerative, which is conclusively not caused by an accident.
However, the Court ruled that the seafarer is entitled to permanent total disability benefits under the POEA Standard Employment Contract. The Court applied the legal presumption that illnesses not listed under Section 32 of the contract are disputably presumed as work-related. The company-designated physician's report stated that the seafarer's degenerative condition could be brought about by wear and tear on the spine by virtue of heavy work, lifting, pulling, or pushing heavy objects. The Court found the petitioners' claim that a laundryman's job does not entail such activities to be ridiculous, noting that a laundryman's duties undoubtedly require lifting, pulling, or pushing heavy objects.
The Court further held that the company-designated physician's failure to issue a final and definitive medical assessment within the 240-day extended period transformed the seafarer's disability to permanent and total disability. The seafarer was not able to return to his job even after the lapse of more than 240 days of medical care, procedure, and therapy. Under the schedule of disability in Section 32 of the 2000 POEA Amended Standard Terms and Conditions, permanent total disability is classified as Grade 1. The Court computed the seafarer's disability benefit as follows:
Grade 1: US$50,000.00 x 120% = US$60,000.00
On attorney's fees, the Court awarded ten percent of the total monetary award, finding it appropriate and commensurate since the seafarer was constrained to litigate with counsel in all stages of the proceeding.
Doctrine
First, the ten-day period under Article 262-A of the Labor Code refers to the period for filing a motion for reconsideration of a voluntary arbitrator's decision, not the period for perfecting an appeal. The appeal to the Court of Appeals must be filed within fifteen days from notice of the denial of the motion for reconsideration, pursuant to Section 4 of Rule 43 of the Rules of Court.
Second, a collective bargaining agreement that provides disability benefits only for injuries resulting from accidents does not cover a seafarer's degenerative condition that develops gradually from the performance of his duties, because such a condition is not an accident within the meaning of the agreement.
Third, illnesses not listed under Section 32 of the POEA Standard Employment Contract are disputably presumed as work-related, and the employer bears the burden of overcoming that presumption with contrary proof.
Fourth, the failure of the company-designated physician to issue a final and definitive medical assessment within the 240-day extended period transforms the seafarer's disability to permanent and total disability.
Disposition
The Supreme Court partially granted the petition, reversed the Court of Appeals decision, and ordered the shipping company and its principal to jointly and severally pay the seafarer sixty thousand US dollars as permanent total disability benefits plus ten percent of that amount as attorney's fees.
Remember This
Remember that the appeal period from a voluntary arbitrator's decision is fifteen days under Rule 43, not ten days, because the ten-day period is for the motion for reconsideration. Examiners like to test this case for the distinction between accident-based claims under a collective bargaining agreement and work-related illness claims under the POEA Standard Employment Contract, as well as the disputable presumption of work-relatedness for illnesses not listed in Section 32.