🎧 Case Brief Lecture

JEREME G. VILLANUEVA, SR., PETITIONER, VS. BALIWAG NAVIGATION, INC., VICTORIA VDA. DE TENGCO AND UNITRA MARITIME CO., LTD., RESPONDENT.

G.R. No. 206505. July 24, 2013 July 24, 2013

← Read the full text of the decision

Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.

Villanueva versus Baliwag Navigation

The Case

This is a labor case about a seafarer who claimed permanent total disability benefits for a heart ailment he said was aggravated by his work on board a vessel. Jereme Villanueva, Sr., the seafarer, sued Baliwag Navigation, Inc., its President Victoria Vda. de Tengco, and its principal Unitra Maritime Co., Ltd., for permanent total disability benefits, medical reimbursement, sickness allowance, damages, and attorney's fees. The case matters because it shows how strictly the Court reads the occupational disease rules of the POEA-Standard Employment Contract: a heart disease is listed as occupational, but the seafarer must still prove by substantial evidence that his work caused or clearly aggravated it. It is a compact lesson on the burden of proof in disability claims.

Procedural History

Villanueva filed his complaint on February 15, 2006. The Labor Arbiter, Antonio Macam, dismissed the complaint for lack of merit, holding that the heart ailment was not compensable because it was not work-related. Villanueva appealed to the National Labor Relations Commission, which affirmed the Labor Arbiter's ruling in full. His motion for reconsideration was denied. He then went to the Court of Appeals through a petition for certiorari under Rule 65, arguing that the Commission committed grave abuse of discretion. The Court of Appeals denied the petition and sustained the Commission. It found no substantial evidence that the ailment was aggravated by his work, noted that he was repatriated for finished contract rather than for medical reasons, and found that he failed to comply with the mandatory three-day post-employment medical examination. His motion for reconsideration was denied. Villanueva then filed a petition for review on certiorari under Rule 45 before the Supreme Court.

Facts

On May 13, 2003, Villanueva entered into a ten-month employment contract with the respondents as bosun for the vessel M/S Forestal Gaia. After his pre-employment medical examination on July 28, 2003, he was declared fit to work, although the examination report indicated that he had a heart disease. He joined the vessel on August 17, 2003.

Villanueva alleged that while performing his duties on board, he suddenly felt pain in his chest and had difficulty breathing. He asked for medical assistance but was given only oral medication. He was repatriated on June 24, 2004 upon the expiration of his contract. On his return to the Philippines, he said he reported to the agency and asked for a medical check-up, but was referred to Centerpoint Medical Services only after several follow-ups. Centerpoint traced his medical history, showing that he had a heart disease, and declared him unfit to work. He then sought a second opinion from an internist-cardiologist, who confirmed the heart disease, declared him unfit for sea duty, and gave him a Grade 1 disability rating. On this basis he filed his claim.

The respondents denied liability. They contended that Villanueva was repatriated not for medical reasons but for the completion of his contract, that he disembarked without any known illness, and that his present ailment, if any, is not compensable because it was contracted outside his employment.

Issues

  • Whether or not Villanueva presented substantial evidence that his heart ailment was work-connected or was clearly aggravated by the nature of his work.
  • Whether or not his repatriation for finished contract, rather than for medical reasons, defeats his claim for disability benefits.
  • Whether or not his failure to comply with the mandatory three-day post-employment medical examination bars his claim.

Applicable Provisions

Section 32-A, paragraph 11 of the 2000 POEA-Standard Employment Contract lists heart disease as an occupational disease, and the Court quotes its conditions:

Heart disease. If the heart disease was known to have been present during employment, there must be proof that an acute exacerbation was clearly precipitated by the unusual strain brought about by the nature of his work.

This provision bears on the case because it is the very rule under which Villanueva's claim must stand or fall: the disease is occupational, but only if the stated condition is proved.

Section 20, paragraph B, subparagraph 3 of the same Contract imposes the mandatory three-day post-employment medical examination, which the Court of Appeals found Villanueva had not complied with.

Ruling

The Court found no reversible legal error in the Court of Appeals ruling and dismissed the petition. On the first issue, the Court held that while the Contract considers a heart disease occupational, Villanueva failed to satisfy by substantial evidence the condition that, if the heart disease was known to have been present during employment, there must be proof that an acute exacerbation was clearly precipitated by the unusual strain brought about by the nature of his work. The Court quoted that condition directly from the Contract in its ruling. On the second issue, the Court found it undisputed that Villanueva was repatriated for finished contract, not for medical reasons, and held that this repatriation belies his submission that his heart disease had been aggravated by his work on board the vessel. On the third issue, the Court likewise sustained the Court of Appeals' finding that he failed to comply with the mandatory three-day post-employment medical examination, contrary to his claim that he reported to the agency and was refused. The Court stressed that the appellate court's findings were supported by the record and disclosed no reversible error.

Doctrine

A heart disease is classified as an occupational disease under the 2000 POEA-Standard Employment Contract, but that classification alone does not entitle a seafarer to disability benefits. Where the heart disease was known to have been present during employment, the seafarer must prove by substantial evidence that an acute exacerbation was clearly precipitated by the unusual strain brought about by the nature of his work. Repatriation for finished contract, rather than for medical reasons, may belie a claim that the illness was aggravated by work on board the vessel. And compliance with the mandatory three-day post-employment medical examination is a condition the seafarer must satisfy or credibly explain. These rules tie directly to the quoted Section 32-A, paragraph 11 of the Contract.

Disposition

The Supreme Court dismissed the petition outright, so the respondents won and the denial of Villanueva's claim for disability benefits stood.

Remember This

Memorize this line: a listed occupational disease still demands substantial evidence that the work caused or clearly aggravated it. Examiners use this case to test the seafarer's burden of proof under the POEA-Standard Employment Contract and the effect of repatriation for finished contract.