CIRILA MANOTA, FOR HERSELF AND IN BEHALF OF HER CHILDREN, CLAIRE, CATHERINE, CHARLES, PHILIP CHRISTOPHER, CARMI JOY, CARLO JOHN AND CEDRIC JAMES, PETITIONERS, VS. AVANTGARDE SHI…
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Manota versus Avantgarde Shipping
The Case
This is a labor case about a seafarer's claim for disability benefits. Cirila Manota, for herself and in behalf of her children, sues Avantgarde Shipping Corporation, the local manning agent of Sembawang Johnson Management, and asks the Supreme Court to reverse the denial of the disability claim of her late husband, Enrique Manota, who had served as an able seaman on the vessel Henriette Kosan. The action began as a complaint for disability benefits, illness allowance, reimbursement of medical expenses, damages, and attorney's fees filed with the Labor Arbiter. The case matters because it fixes two rules every seafarer's claim must satisfy: the illness must be shown by substantial evidence to have been contracted during the term of the employment contract, and the seafarer must submit to the mandatory post-employment medical examination within three working days from arrival, or give a written notice of physical incapacity within the same period, on pain of forfeiture of the benefits.
Procedural History
The Labor Arbiter, Daisy Cauton-Barcelona, ruled for Enrique. She ordered Avantgarde and Sembawang to pay him, jointly and severally, total disability benefit at Grade 1 in the amount of 50,000 dollars and attorney's fees equivalent to ten percent of that amount, and dismissed all other claims. She reasoned that the proximity of his arrival on December 2, 1996 to his examination at the United Doctors Medical Center on January 6, 1997, which showed pneumonia and tuberculosis foci and an elevated blood sugar, indicated that the sickness was contracted during the term of the contract, and that compensability does not depend on whether the disease was pre-existing but on whether it is work-related or aggravated by the working condition.
On appeal, the National Labor Relations Commission set aside the Labor Arbiter's decision and dismissed the complaint for lack of merit. It found no medical certificate issued while Enrique was on board, noted that the earliest certificate came two months after disembarkation, and held that under the three-day reporting rule his failure to comply forfeited his right to sickness allowance and disability benefits. Enrique then filed a petition for certiorari with the Court of Appeals, which affirmed the Commission in toto and later denied reconsideration. Enrique had died on October 19, 2004, so the petition for review on certiorari was filed by his widow for herself and in behalf of their children. The Supreme Court denied the petition and affirmed the Court of Appeals.
Facts
On April 10, 1996, Avantgarde hired Enrique as an able seaman for seven months at a monthly salary of 569 dollars, with fixed monthly overtime pay of 296 dollars and monthly vacation leave with pay of 108 dollars. The contract incorporated the Standard Terms and Conditions Governing the Employment of Filipino Seafarers on Board Ocean-Going Vessels prescribed by the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration, and bound the parties to observe Memorandum Circular Number 41, Series of 1989, and its amendatory circulars. He departed on April 23, 1996 to join the Henriette Kosan and was repatriated on November 30, 1996, arriving in the Philippines on December 2, 1996.
On January 6, 1997, more than a month after arrival, he was examined at the United Doctors Medical Center, where the x-ray showed pneumonia and tuberculosis foci; later tests showed elevated blood sugar. On November 4, 1999, the Seamen's Hospital diagnosed him with Diabetes Mellitus II, PTB cavitary class 3, and a movement disorder affecting the left upper and lower extremities, rated as Grade 1 disability and unfit for sea duty. On November 18, 1999, Doctor Efren Vicaldo issued a certificate confirming Grade 1 disability. The respondents denied his claim, and he filed the complaint almost three years after his disembarkation.
The respondents raised prescription and his failure to undergo the post-employment medical examination within three days from arrival. The Labor Arbiter granted the claim, but the Commission and the Court of Appeals held that he had presented no medical complaint while on board and no certificate issued close to his disembarkation, and that he had not complied with the three-day reporting rule.
Issues
- Whether or not the petitioners are entitled to claim disability benefits from the respondents.
- Whether or not Enrique contracted his illness during the term of his employment contract, as required for the claim to prosper.
- Whether or not his failure to submit to the post-employment medical examination within three working days from arrival forfeited the right to the benefits.
Applicable Provisions
Section C, paragraph 4, subparagraph c of the 1989 POEA Standard Employment Contract, as amended, provides:
SECTION C. COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS. 4. The liabilities of the employer when the seaman suffers injury or illness during the term of his contract are as follows: c. The employer shall pay the seaman his basic wages from the time he leaves the vessel for medical treatment. After discharge from the vessel the seaman is entitled to one hundred percent (100%) of his basic wages until he is declared fit to work or the degree of permanent disability has been assessed by the company-designated physician but in no case shall this period exceed one hundred twenty (120) days. For this purpose, the seaman shall submit himself to a post-employment medical examination by the company-designated physician within three working days upon his return except when he is physically incapacitated to do so, in which case a written notice to the agency within the same period is deemed as compliance. Failure of the seaman to comply with the mandatory reporting requirement shall result in his forfeiture of the right to claim the above benefits.
This provision supplies both requirements the claim must meet: that the illness occurred during the term of the contract, and that the seafarer reported for the post-employment examination within three working days or gave a written notice of incapacity, failing which the benefits are forfeited.
Ruling
On the first issue, the Court held that the petitioners are not entitled to disability benefits. The employment of seafarers is governed by the contracts they sign every time they are hired, and their stipulations have the force of law between the parties. The applicable circular is Memorandum Circular Number 41, Series of 1989, as amended, not Memorandum Circular Number 55, Series of 1996, which the Commission applied, because the latter took effect on January 1, 1997 while the employment ended with repatriation on November 30, 1996.
On the second issue, the Court held that the illness was not shown to have been contracted during the term of the contract. Whoever claims entitlement to the benefits must establish the right by substantial evidence, which the Court described as such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion, even if other equally reasonable minds might opine otherwise. The burden lay on the petitioners. There was no record of any medical complaint on board or after arrival, the certificates were issued long after disembarkation, and the respondents learned of the illness only when the claim was made almost three years later. The Court therefore accepted that Enrique was repatriated upon completion of his contract, not for medical reasons.
On the third issue, the Court held that even assuming a medical repatriation, the three-day reporting requirement was not met. The rule admits of an exception, when the seafarer is physically incapacitated, but then a written notice to the agency within the same period is required, and no such incapacity was shown. The Court stressed that the requirement must be strictly observed, since within three days the physician can fairly determine whether the disease was contracted during the term of employment, and to ignore the rule would open the floodgates to a limitless number of claims and leave employers without protection against unrelated disability claims. The petitioners' argument that the rule applies only to a seafarer already aware of his illness was rejected, because their own admission that no symptoms had manifested confirmed that he was in good health upon arrival. The fit-to-work finding before embarkation did not prove the illness was acquired during employment, and no medical expert opinion supported the claim that he could not have acquired it within thirty-five days after arrival. The Wallem case did not apply, because there the seaman was discharged two months before the contract expired, was hospitalized two days after arrival, and was physically incapacitated to comply. Having found the dismissal rested not on prescription but on these grounds, the Court saw no need to discuss prescription.
Doctrine
A seafarer's claim for disability benefits requires proof by substantial evidence that the injury or illness was contracted during the term of the employment contract, and the burden lies on the claimant. The phrase during the term covers all injuries or illnesses occurring during the lifetime of the contract. Compliance with the post-employment medical examination within three working days from return is mandatory; the only exception is physical incapacity, which must be accompanied by a written notice to the agency within the same period. Failure to comply results in forfeiture of the right to claim the benefits. A pre-employment finding of fitness does not by itself prove that a later illness was acquired during employment, and the applicable POEA circular is the one in force at the time the employment ended.
Disposition
The petition was denied, and the Court of Appeals decision and resolution were affirmed; the petitioners lost and recovered nothing.
Remember This
Memorize the twin requirements: illness during the term, proven by substantial evidence, and the three-working-day post-employment medical examination or written notice of incapacity, on pain of forfeiture. Examiners use this case to test the strict application of the three-day rule and the burden of substantial evidence in seafarers' disability claims.