ABDULJUAHID R. PIGCAULAN, PETITIONER, VS. SECURITY AND CREDIT INVESTIGATION, INC. AND/OR RENE AMBY REYES, RESPONDENTS.
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Pigcaulan versus Security and Credit Investigation, Incorporated
The Case
This is a petition for review on certiorari brought by Abduljuahid Pigcaulan, a former security guard, against his former employer, Security and Credit Investigation, Incorporated, and its general manager, Rene Amby Reyes. The case concerns money claims for underpayment of salaries and non-payment of statutory benefits, and it matters because it clarifies two fundamental points: first, that the burden of proving payment of monetary claims rests on the employer, not on the employee to prove non-payment; and second, that procedural defects in a labor decision should not prejudice the substantial rights of a worker who is otherwise entitled to benefits by law.
Procedural History
Pigcaulan and a co-employee, Oliver Canoy, filed separate complaints with the Labor Arbiter for underpayment of salaries and non-payment of overtime, holiday, rest day, service incentive leave, and 13th month pays. The complaints were consolidated. The Labor Arbiter ruled in favor of the complainants and awarded salary differentials, service incentive leave pay, and proportionate 13th month pay for the year 2000.
The employer appealed to the National Labor Relations Commission, which dismissed the appeal and sustained the Labor Arbiter. The employer then filed a petition for certiorari with the Court of Appeals, which set aside the rulings of both the Labor Arbiter and the National Labor Relations Commission and dismissed all the monetary claims. The Court of Appeals cited the lack of detailed computation in the Labor Arbiter's decision, the alleged probative value of the payrolls, and the improper holding of the general manager solidarily liable. Pigcaulan moved for reconsideration, but the motion was denied. He then filed the present petition for review on certiorari with the Supreme Court.
Facts
Pigcaulan and Canoy were employed by the respondent company as security guards assigned to different clients. They filed complaints claiming underpayment of salaries and non-payment of overtime, holiday, rest day, service incentive leave, and 13th month pays. In support of their claims, they submitted daily time records and itemized lists of their claims.
The employer maintained that the employees were paid their just salaries and benefits, presenting payroll listings and lists of employees who received their 13th month pay. The Labor Arbiter gave credence to the employees' computations, noting that the payroll listings were not signed by the employees or any company officer, except for the 13th month payroll which bore their signatures. On appeal, the employer attached payrolls bearing the individual signatures of the employees and transmittal letters to the bank showing direct deposit of salaries to their ATM accounts.
The Court of Appeals dismissed the claims entirely, prompting Pigcaulan to file the present petition. Notably, the petition was filed solely by Pigcaulan, with only his name in the caption, his signature on the verification and certification of non-forum shopping, and his counsel identified as counsel only for him. Canoy later attempted to join through an affidavit appended to the reply, but he failed to execute a certification of non-forum shopping.
Issues
- Whether or not the Court of Appeals erred in dismissing the complaint instead of remanding the case for a detailed computation of the judgment award.
- Whether or not the Court of Appeals erred in making the complainants suffer the consequences of the alleged non-observance by the Labor Arbiter and the National Labor Relations Commission of the prescribed forms of decisions.
- Whether or not the Court of Appeals erred in dismissing the complaint due to absence of legal and factual bases despite the attendance of substantial evidence in the records.
Applicable Provisions
Article 94 of the Labor Code, on the right to holiday pay, provides:
ART. 94. RIGHT TO HOLIDAY PAY. – (a) Every worker shall be paid his regular daily wage during regular holidays, except in retail and service establishments regularly employing less than ten (10) workers;
This provision establishes that Pigcaulan is entitled to his regular rate on holidays even if he does not work.
Article 95 of the Labor Code, on the right to service incentive leave, provides:
ART. 95. RIGHT TO SERVICE INCENTIVE LEAVE. – (a) Every employee who has rendered at least one year of service shall be entitled to a yearly service incentive of five days with pay.
This provision entitles Pigcaulan to service incentive leave benefit since he rendered service for more than a year.
Presidential Decree Number 851, requiring all employers to pay their employees a 13th month pay, is also applied in this case, entitling Pigcaulan to his proportionate 13th month pay for the year 2000.
Ruling
The Supreme Court first ruled that the assailed Court of Appeals decision is final as to Canoy. The petition was filed solely by Pigcaulan, as shown by the prefatory statement, the heading on parties, the verification and certification of non-forum shopping executed by Pigcaulan alone, and the counsel's identification as counsel only for Pigcaulan. Canoy's subsequent attempt to join through an affidavit was insufficient because he failed to submit a certificate of non-forum shopping, and no common interest existed between the two complainants merely because their cases were consolidated.
On the merits, the Court found that there was no substantial evidence to support the grant of overtime pay. The handwritten itemized computations submitted by the employees were self-serving, unreliable, and unsubstantial evidence. Unsigned and unauthenticated, there was no way to verify the truth of the entries, and nothing in the records substantially supported the contention that Pigcaulan rendered service beyond eight hours.
However, the Court ruled that Pigcaulan is entitled to holiday pay, service incentive leave pay, and proportionate 13th month pay for the year 2000. The Court quoted the applicable provisions of the Labor Code and emphasized the burden of proof:
It is not for an employee to prove non-payment of benefits to which he is entitled by law. Rather, it is on the employer that the burden of proving payment of these claims rests.
The employer failed to provide convincing proof that it had settled these claims. The payroll listings and transmittal letters did not prove payment of the specific benefits claimed, and the proof of 13th month pay covered only the years 1998 and 1999.
Finally, the Court held that the Court of Appeals erred in dismissing the claims instead of remanding the case to the Labor Arbiter for a detailed computation. While the Labor Arbiter failed to provide sufficient basis for the monetary awards, such failure should not prejudice the substantial rights of the party. Since the records were insufficient to compute the claims properly, the case was remanded for detailed computation.
Doctrine
The burden of proving payment of monetary claims rests on the employer, not on the employee to prove non-payment. One who pleads payment has the burden of proving it, even when the plaintiff alleges non-payment.
Procedural defects in a labor decision, such as the failure to provide a detailed computation, should not result in prejudice to the substantial rights of a party entitled to benefits by law. The proper remedy is remand for detailed computation, not outright dismissal.
When a petition is filed by only one of several parties, the decision becomes final as to those who did not join, and a certification of non-forum shopping must be executed by all petitioners, unless common interest is shown.
Disposition
The Supreme Court granted the petition, reversed and set aside the Court of Appeals decision and resolution, declared Pigcaulan entitled to holiday pay and service incentive leave pay for the years 1997 to 2000 and proportionate 13th month pay for the year 2000, and remanded the case to the Labor Arbiter for further proceedings to determine the exact amount and make a detailed computation of the monetary benefits due.
Remember This
Memorize this single line: the burden of proving payment of monetary claims rests on the employer, not on the employee to prove non-payment. Examiners like to use this case to test both the burden of proof rule in labor claims and the procedural rule that a petition filed by only one of several complainants does not inure to the benefit of the others.