G.R. No. L-44993. May 29, 1987

ERIBERTO H. DECENA, PETITIONER, VS. THE ADMINISTRATOR, PHILIPPINE VETERANS AFFAIRS OFFICE (FORMERLY PHILIPPINE VETERANS ADMINISTRATION):  AND PHILIPPINE VETERANS AFFAIRS OFFICE,…

Decisions / Signed Resolutions May 29, 1987 EN BANC CORTES, J.:
Download PDF


CORTES, J.:


Petitioner Eriberto H. Decena seeks to compel the payment by
respondents, Administrator of the Philippine Veterans Affairs Office (PVAO) and
the PVAO of back pension benefits due him, and the payment of monthly
allowances to his wife, Anita Decena, granted by Republic Act No. 5753. Respondents do not dispute the right of the
petitioner to the payment of differential disability life pension. The question left for Us to resolve is the
period from which to reckon the computation of the back pensions.

As a disabled World War II veteran, Decena applied for and was
granted a disability life pension of P50.00 per month for his pulmonary
tuberculosis on August 5, 1957 under Republic Act No. 65, otherwise known as
the G.I. Bill of Rights. Republic Act
No. 65 was subsequently amended by other laws which provided for the following
benefits:

1) Republic Act No. 1362, enacted on June 22, 1955, included as
part of the P50.00 benefit a P10.00
monthly living allowance for each of the veteran’s unmarried children below
eighteen years of age;

2) Republic Act No. 1920, approved on June 22, 1957, increased the
disability life pension of veterans to P100.00 a month and maintained the
P10.00 monthly living allowance for each of unmarried children below eighteen
years of age; and

3) Republic Act No. 5753, enacted on June 21, 1969 increased the
disability life pension of veterans to P200.00 a month and granted a P30.00
monthly living allowance for the veteran’s wife and each of the unmarried minor
children below 18 years of age.

The amount of P19.00 which the petitioner was then receiving from
the United States Veterans Administration as disability compensation for his varicose veins was deducted from the
P50.00 monthly disability life pension granted to him so that he received only
the net amount of P31.00. This was in
conformity with Regulation No. 2 of the Rules and Regulations on Veterans’
Benefits promulgated by the respondent administrative agency,
[1] and which regulation was declared void by
this Court in Del Mar v. Philippine Veterans
Administration.
[2]

When the monthly life
pension was increased from P50.00 to P100.00 under Rep. Act No. 1920, the
petitioner received only P62.00 per month, which
was double the amount of P31.00 that he was
previously receiving. The petitioner
continued receiving the amount of P62.00 even after Republic Act No. 5753
increased the disability life pension to P200.00 per month.

In a letter dated May 8, 1984,[3] the
petitioner made a demand on the
Administrator for the payment of differential disability life pension
representing the deductions made by the respondent. The Administrator’s reply to the said letter stated that the
petitioner’s case
was being
looked into “with the end in view of promulgating the necessary policy on
pension payments under Section 9, Republic Act No. 65, as amended, in
consonance with the
decision of the Supreme Court in the Begosa case.”[4]

After more than two (2)
years from his receipt of the aforementioned letter from the Administrator the
petitioner filed the
present suit for mandamus. Instead of filing an Answer as required by
the Court, the respondent filed a Manifestation on March 14, 1977 stating that
pursuant to Directive No. 875 issued on March 8, 1977 by the then Acting
Administrator Juan Gacad, the petitioner’s disability life pension had been
adjusted pursuant
to Republic Act No. 5753 to take effect March, 1977
but that the back pension payments shall be subject to the availability of
funds and to be computed as follows:[5]

Amount
of Differential

Pension Due
Per Month                                                 Period

P 19.00                                                      From
Dec. 1957 to June 1963

38.00                                                      From
July 1963 to Dec. 1972

133.00                                                      From
Jan. 1972 to Feb. 1977

The petitioner insists, however, that the differential pension
should be computed as follows:

Amount
of Differential

Pension Due
Per Month                                                 Period

P 33.00                                          From
Aug. 5, 1957 (Date petitioner’s pension was approved)

138.00                                          From
June 21, 1969 (Date of  effectivity of
R.A 5753) to Feb. 1977.

The Administrator is of the opinion that the adjustment of the
petitioner’s pension benefits should not be reckoned from the dates of approval
or effectivity of the amendatory laws because they do not carry with them the
corresponding appropriation necessary for the payment of the increase in
pension benefits. He maintains that inasmuch
as the appropriations for Republic Act No. 1920 and Republic Act No. 5753 were
made effective on July 1, 1963 and January 1972, respectively, then the
back pension payments should be counted from these dates.

The resolution of the case hinges on a determination of the time
when the right to the increases in the monthly disability life pension vested
in the petitioner.

We hold that the petitioner had a vested right to the pension
increases from the time of the enactment of the laws which so provided. It is true that no funds were immediately
alloted to cover the increases but this does not mean that the petitioner had
no claim to them ad interim. The right to receive the differentials might have been suspended from
the time Republic Act Nos. 1920 and 5753 were approved to the time that
appropriations were made but that was only as far as the implementation of
these laws is concerned. The various
appropriation acts providing for the payment of the pension increases did not
delimit the period from which veterans of the same standing as petitioner are
entitled to them. In fact, the
appropriation acts provided that the payment of the increased pension is
pursuant to the provisions of Republic Act No. 1920 and Republic Act No.
5753. An appropriation denotes nothing
more but the setting aside of a certain sum from the public revenue for a
specified purpose.

We likewise note that in the case of Board of Administrators,
PVA vs. Bautista[6] which
involved a similar issue on differential pensions, this court awarded the
increased pensions and monthly allowances of the veteran’s wife and children
from the effectivity date of R.A. 1920 and R.A. 5753. We quote the dispositive portion of that case:

WHEREFORE, premises considered, the Board of Administrators of the
Philippine Veterans Association (now the Philippine Veterans Affairs Office) is
hereby ordered to make Gasilao’s pension effective December 18, 1955 at the
rate of P50.00 plus P10.00 per month for each of his then unmarried children
below 18, and the former amount increased to
P100.00 from June 22, 1957 to August 7,
1968.

The differentials in pension to which said Gasilao, his wife and
his unmarried minor children below 18 are entitled for the period from June
22, 1969 to January 14, 1972 by
virtue of R.A. 5753 are hereby declared subject to
the availability of Government funds appropriated for the purpose. (Underscoring supplied)

We find a similar disposition in the case of Philippine Veterans
Affairs Office v. Anover:[7]

WHEREFORE, the questioned decision is hereby SET ASIDE and another
one is entered ordering PVAO to pay Estudillo the amount of P120.00 from June
22, 1969, the date of effectivity of
R.A. 5753, up to the present. Payment
to Estudillo of what is due him from June 22, 1969 is hereby declared subject
to the availability of Government funds appropriated for the purpose.

This case, however,
should be differentiated from that of Board of Administrators
v. Agcaoili
[8] wherein this Court refrained from ordering
the payment of the pension increases “because the Government has thus far
not provided the necessary funds. x x
x” In the case at bar, the petitioner seeks to recover the differentials
under Republic Act Nos. 1920 and 5753 and his wife’s monthly dependent’s
allowance under Republic Act No. 5753, for which the then Congress of the
Philippines had already made appropriations.

We note also that
starting in 1963, the legislature had appropriated funds of more than ten
million pesos (P10,000,000.00) per fiscal year for the pa
yment of pensions to disabled veterans,
reaching as much as P22,000,000.00 from 1967 to 1972.
[9] Aside from these, the various appropriation
acts gave authority to the PVAO to use unexpended amounts appropriated for some
other item for the payment of said pension. Considering that the petitioner started claimin
g
payment of the differentials since 1974, a period of thirteen (13) years
up to the present time and that the respondents have been paying the petitioner
the adjusted rate since March 1977.
We hold that the respondents had sufficient time within which to include
the claim of the petitioner in
its yearly budget for which appropriations
should have been made. Inasmuch as the
petitioner’s claim is minimal compared to the appropriations that have been
made, the same should be paid immediately.

WHEREFORE, premises considered, the Administrator of the
Philippine Veterans Affairs Office is ordered to immediately pay Eriberto H.
Decena the differential disability life pensions in the amount of P38 00 per
month from August 5, 1957 to June 20, 1969 plus the amount of P138.00 per month
from June 21, 1969 to February 1977.

The payment of the P30.00
monthly living allowance due Anita Decena under Republic Act No. 5753 as
petitioner’s dependent is ordered effective from the date that the application
for the same was approved by the respondent Administrator.

SO ORDERED.

Teehankee, C.J., Yap, Fernan, Narvasa, Melencio-Herrera,
Gutierrez, Jr., Cruz, Paras, Gancayco, Padilla, Bidin, and Sarmiento, JJ., concur.

Feliciano, J., on leave.


[1]
“Effect of receipt of U.S.V.A. pension
benefit. – Termination, reduction. – An award of similar
disability compensation from the United States Veterans Administration shall be
a ground for the cancellation of a disability
pension granted under this Regulation: Provided, however, that if and when the disability compensation awarded
by the United States Veteran’s Administration is less than the pension granted
hereunder, the difference in amount shall be assumed and paid by the PVA; x x x”

[2]
G.R. No. L-27299, June 27, 1973, 51 SCRA 340.

[3]
Petition, Annex “B”, Rollo, pp. 13-15.

[4]
Petition, Annex “C”, Rollo, p. 16. In Begosa v. Chairman, Philippine
Veterans Administration (G.R. No. L-25916, April 30, 1970, 32
SCRA 466), the Court affirmed a CFI
decision holding that the petitioner veteran should be given a disability life
pension of P50.00 a month from June 21, 1955 (the effective date of his claim
as found by the trial court) until June 21, 1957, and P100.00 a month for life
from June 22, 1957 (when Section 9 of Republic Act No. 1362, was further
amended by Republic Act No. 1920).

[5]
Rollo, pp. 46-47.

[6]
G.R. No. L-37867, February 22,
1982, 112 SCRA 59.

[7]
G.R. No. L-39835, October 27, 1983, 125 SCRA 354.

[8]
G.R. No. L-38129, July 23, 1974, 58 SCRA 72, 77.

[9]
See Appropriation Acts for the Fiscal Years from 1963-1972.