GERARDO M. CASTILLO, PETITIONER, VS. NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS COMMISSION, MAGSAYSAY MARTIME CORP., PRINCESS CRUISE LINES LTD., MR. MARLON M ROÑO AND “SAPPHIRE PRINCESS,” RESPOND…
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Castillo versus National Labor Relations Commission
The Case
This is a petition for certiorari brought by Gerardo Castillo, a seafarer, against the National Labor Relations Commission, Magsaysay Maritime Corporation, Princess Cruise Lines, and their officers, to set aside the Commission's resolutions dismissing his appeal and his motion for reconsideration. Castillo claims permanent and total disability benefits after a neurological illness ended his sea career, and the case matters because it fixes the burden of proof a seafarer must discharge to show that an illness is work-related or work-aggravated under the POEA Standard Employment Contract.
Procedural History
Castillo filed a complaint for disability benefits. The labor arbiter dismissed the complaint for lack of merit, holding that the seafarer failed to prove work-relatedness under the POEA contract and that no collective bargaining agreement covered the parties. Castillo appealed to the National Labor Relations Commission, which dismissed the appeal for lack of merit in a resolution promulgated in December 2011, and denied his motion for reconsideration in a subsequent resolution in January 2012. Castillo then filed the present petition for certiorari before the Supreme Court, which denied the petition for lack of merit.
Facts
Gerardo Castillo had been continuously employed by Magsaysay Maritime Corporation for Princess Cruises since 1994, and each engagement was preceded by a pre-employment medical examination that declared him fit to work. In July 2009 he signed a ten-month contract as a laundry steward, and in August 2009 he boarded the vessel Sapphire Princess.
About six months into the contract, in February 2010, he suddenly experienced lower limb weakness, loss of sensation, numbness, and difficulty in walking. The ship's physician assessed him with a demyelinising polyradiculoneuropathy of unknown cause, possibly chronic inflammatory demyelinising polyneuropathy or multiple sclerosis. He continued working until he was brought to a hospital in March 2010, where examination revealed intermittent acute paraparesis and degenerative changes in his lumbar spine.
He was medically repatriated in May 2010 and referred to a company-designated physician, who eventually gave a final diagnosis of thoracic spinal arteriovenous malformation. Castillo consulted an independent physician in August 2010, who diagnosed demyelinising polyradiculoneuropathy and assessed his disability as total and permanent. Claiming he could no longer work, he sought permanent disability benefits of 80,000 dollars under the ITF Cruise Ship Model Agreement for Catering Personnel, but the labor arbiter found no such agreement covered his employment and dismissed his complaint.
Issues
- Whether or not the National Labor Relations Commission committed grave abuse of discretion in holding that Castillo's illnesses were not work-related or work-aggravated.
- Whether or not the Commission's decision was contrary to the evidence and to the POEA Standard Employment Contract.
- Whether or not Castillo is entitled to full disability compensation under the POEA Standard Employment Contract.
Applicable Provisions
Section 20, paragraph B, number 6 of the 2000 POEA Standard Employment Contract provides:
In case of permanent or total disability of the seafarer caused by either injury or illness the seafarer shall be compensated in accordance with the schedule of benefits enumerated in Section 32 of this Contract. Computation of his benefits arising from an illness or disease shall be governed by the rates and rules of compensation applicable at the time the disease or illness was contracted.
This is the very source of the benefit claimed, and it requires both work-relatedness and that the illness existed during the term of the contract.
Section 32-A of the same contract provides:
For an occupational disease and the resulting disability or death to be compensable, all of the following conditions must be satisfied: 1) The seafarer's work must involve the risks described herein; 2) The disease was contracted as a result of the seafarer's exposure to the described risks; 3) The disease was contracted within a period of exposure and under such other factors necessary to contract it; 4) There was no notorious negligence on the part of the seafarer.
These conditions define when an illness counts as work-related, and the Court measures Castillo's evidence against them.
Section 20, paragraph B, number 3 of the same contract provides:
Upon sign-off from the vessel for medical treatment, the seafarer is entitled to sickness allowance equivalent to his basic wage until he is declared fit to work or the degree of permanent disability has been assessed by the company-designated physician but in no case shall this period exceed one hundred twenty (120) days.
This provision also supplies the third-doctor mechanism, which the Court notes the parties never availed of.
Ruling
The Court denied the petition, resolving the issues jointly. On the first issue, it held that no grave abuse of discretion attended the Commission's finding. Two elements must concur for compensability: the illness must be work-related, and it must have existed during the term of the employment contract. It is not enough that the illness rendered the seafarer permanently or partially disabled; a causal connection between the illness and the work must be shown.
On the second issue, the Court held that Castillo failed to present substantial evidence of a reasonable work connection. His bare allegations that he was exposed to chemicals and extreme weather, without specifying the chemicals or how his working conditions aggravated his illness, could not sustain the claim. The Court stressed that probability, not ultimate certainty, is the test, but the probability must be reasonable and anchored on credible information; a mere possibility will not suffice. The pre-employment medical examinations did not help him, because they are non-exploratory and a fit-to-work declaration is not conclusive proof of absence of ailment. The findings of the company-designated physician, who monitored him for months, deserved greater weight than those of his private physician, who saw him only once.
On the third issue, the Court held that Castillo was not entitled to full disability compensation, since he failed to discharge the burden imposed on him by law.
Doctrine
For an illness to be compensable under Section 20, paragraph B, number 6 of the POEA Standard Employment Contract, two elements must concur: the illness must be work-related, and it must have existed during the term of the seafarer's employment contract. Work-relatedness must be established by substantial evidence, which is more than a mere scintilla; the claimant must show a reasonable work connection, not a direct causal relation, but a mere possibility will not suffice. A fit-to-work declaration in a pre-employment medical examination is not conclusive proof that the seafarer was free from ailment, because the examination is not exploratory. Finally, the findings of the company-designated physician deserve greater weight than those of a private physician consulted only once.
Disposition
The Supreme Court denied the petition for lack of merit, and the dismissal of Castillo's complaint for disability benefits stood.
Remember This
Memorize the two-element test: work-relatedness plus existence of the illness during the term of the contract, both proven by substantial evidence. Examiners use this case to test the weight of pre-employment medical examinations and the deference owed to the company-designated physician.