THE BOARD OF ADMINISTRATORS, PHILIPPINE VETERANS ADMINISTRATION, PETITIONER, VS. HON. MARIANO V. AGCAOILI, AS PRESIDING JUDGE OF THE COURT OF FIRST INSTANCE OF MANILA, BRANCH XX…
Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.
Philippine Veterans Administration versus Agcaoili
The Case
This is the Philippine Veterans Administration against Judge Mariano Agcaoili, in his capacity as presiding judge of the Court of First Instance of Manila, and against the veteran Mauro Abrera. The Government asks the Supreme Court to review a judgment that ordered it to pay a war veteran, his wife, and his minor children the full pension benefits under section 9 of Republic Act 65, as amended. The case matters because it teaches two enduring lessons: that a court cannot render judgment contrary to the facts the parties themselves stipulated, and that a pension statute must be applied according to its plain terms, with the restrictive phrase permanently incapacitated from work read strictly.
Procedural History
On March 28, 1973, Mauro Abrera filed a petition for mandamus in the Court of First Instance of Manila, Branch XXIX, to compel the Philippine Veterans Administration to pay him differential pensions and the allowances due to his wife and minor children under section 9 of Republic Act 65, as amended. The Administration answered. The parties then submitted a stipulation of facts, and on the strength of that stipulation and their memoranda, the trial court rendered judgment on December 26, 1973 in favor of Abrera, awarding him full pension benefits, including allowances for his wife and minor children, plus attorney's fees, with costs against the Administration. The Government appealed to the Supreme Court, which decided the case in July 1974.
Facts
Mauro Abrera was a veteran-grantee of disability benefits under Republic Act 65, as amended. In November 1947, without subjecting him to a physical examination, the Philippine Veterans Board provisionally approved his claim and awarded him a monthly pension of 50 pesos, effective May 29, 1947, subject to re-rating upon physical examination. When he was examined, however, his injury was not found to have permanently incapacitated him from work, so the Administration applied its rating schedule for injuries that only temporarily incapacitate an applicant. His injury was rated 50 percent, and his pension was reduced from 50 pesos to 25 pesos. A later examination raised his rating to 75 percent, and his pension rose to 35 pesos.
When Republic Act 1920 was implemented on July 1, 1963, his monthly pension was automatically doubled to 75 pesos. Because the effect of his injury on his capacity to work was variable, his pension remained subject to re-rating upon examination. A further examination found that his disability incapacitated him from work by only 60 percent, and his pension was reduced to 60 pesos, which he was receiving at the time of the case. Precisely because his disability was rated at only 60 percent, his wife and minor children were never granted the monthly allowance of 30 pesos each under section 9, since his disability was not found to have permanently incapacitated him from work.
From January 1, 1972, when the Administration implemented Republic Act 5753, which raised the monthly pension for permanently incapacitated veterans from 100 pesos to 200 pesos, Abrera should have received 120 pesos, being 60 percent of 200 pesos. Instead, he continued to receive only 60 pesos. The Administration explained that Congress had failed to appropriate the funds needed to cover all claims for benefits, pensions, and allowances, and that it had no alternative but to suspend full implementation until sufficient funds were appropriated.
Issues
- Whether or not the trial court erred in awarding Abrera full pension benefits under section 9 of Republic Act 65, as amended, despite the stipulated fact that his disability did not permanently incapacitate him from work.
- Whether or not Abrera is entitled, as a matter of law, to a monthly pension of 120 pesos from January 1, 1972, and whether or not the Court should order its payment notwithstanding the unavailability of appropriated funds.
Applicable Provisions
Section 9 of Republic Act 65, as amended by Republic Acts 1920 and 5753, provides:
The persons mentioned in sections one and two hereof who are permanently incapacitated from work owing to sickness, disease or injuries sustained in line of duty, shall be given a life pension of two hundred pesos a month, and thirty pesos a month for his wife and each of his unmarried minor children below eighteen years of age, unless they are actually receiving a similar pension from other Government funds, and shall receive, in addition, the necessary hospitalization and medical care.
This provision is the heart of the case: it confines the full life pension, and the allowances for a wife and minor children, to veterans who are permanently incapacitated from work, a qualification Abrera's stipulated rating of 60 percent does not satisfy.
Ruling
On the first issue, the Court ruled for the Administration. The stipulation of facts clearly showed that Abrera's disability did not render him permanently incapacitated for work, yet the trial court disregarded this material fact. Stipulations of the parties constitute agreements or admissions that bind them, require no further evidence, and cannot be contradicted unless the party adversely affected shows he agreed through a palpable mistake, which Abrera never attempted to show. Where the parties submit the case on a stipulation of facts, the court must render judgment strictly in accordance therewith; otherwise the judgment is inefficacious. The Court also stressed the plain language of the statute: it makes full pension benefits available only to those who are permanently incapacitated from work, and only when the veteran is permanently disabled may his wife and minor children receive the pensions provided for them. The words permanently incapacitated have a restrictive signification that cannot be conveniently disregarded. The Begosa and Teoxon cases, which the trial court relied upon, did not apply, because the claimants there suffered from permanent disability.
On the second issue, the Court found Abrera's claim not completely devoid of merit. His pension had always been computed by multiplying his disability rating by the statutory monthly pension. When Republic Act 5753 raised the pension for permanently incapacitated veterans to 200 pesos, Abrera, with a 60 percent rating, was entitled as a matter of law to 120 pesos from January 1, 1972. The Court found the Administration's explanation for nonpayment satisfactory, but held that payment must remain subject to the availability of Government funds duly set aside for the purpose, and subject to further periodic re-rating of his physical disability. Because the Government had not provided the necessary funds to pay all valid claims, the Court refrained from ordering payment of the 120 pesos.
Doctrine
First, a stipulation of facts binds the parties as an agreement or admission; the court must decide strictly in accordance with it, and a judgment inconsistent with the stipulated facts is inefficacious. Second, pension benefits under section 9 of Republic Act 65, as amended, belong only to veterans who are permanently incapacitated from work; the phrase is restrictive and must be applied according to its plain terms, and the allowances for a wife and minor children follow only from that permanent incapacity. Third, a veteran whose disability is merely partial is still entitled to a pension computed by multiplying his disability rating by the statutory monthly amount, but payment of any differential remains subject to the availability of funds duly appropriated by Congress.
Disposition
The Supreme Court set aside the judgment of the trial court and dismissed Abrera's petition for mandamus, without costs, while clarifying that he is entitled to 120 pesos monthly from January 1, 1972, subject to available funds and re-rating.
Remember This
Memorize this line: a court cannot render judgment contrary to the parties' stipulation of facts, and the words permanently incapacitated in the veterans' pension law are restrictive and cannot be disregarded. Examiners use this case on the binding effect of stipulations of facts and on the strict construction of pension statutes granting benefits only upon a permanent incapacity.