🎧 Case Brief Lecture

CARMELO YANUARIO, AS REGIONAL LABOR ADMINISTRATOR, COMPLAINANT, VS. FAUSTINO H. PARAGUYA, AS MUNICIPAL JUDGE OF PLACER, SURIGAO DEL NORTE, RESPONDENT.

Adm. Matter No. 64-MJ. May 05, 1976 May 5, 1976

← Read the full text of the decision

Listen, read along, or open presentation mode.

Yanuario versus Paraguya

The Case

This is an administrative proceeding brought by Carmelo Yanuario, in his capacity as Regional Labor Administrator, against Faustino H. Paraguya, then the Municipal Judge of Placer, Surigao del Norte. The complaint charges the respondent with grave abuse of discretion and gross ignorance of the law, arising from the manner in which he conducted the preliminary investigation of two criminal cases and dismissed them for lack of sufficient evidence to prove a prima facie case. The case matters to the Bar candidate because it fixes the standard of judicial conduct in preliminary investigations and illustrates when an error of judgment, though real, does not rise to the level of a disciplinable offense.

Procedural History

The matter began as an administrative complaint filed with the Supreme Court against the respondent municipal judge. The charges were investigated by the Investigating Executive Judge, Placido Reyes Roa, who recommended the exoneration of the respondent on the ground of insufficiency of evidence. The Judicial Consultant, however, noted that in the order dismissing the criminal cases the respondent had relied heavily on the sworn statement of Honorio Elizaga, the bookkeeper of Samuel Trading, taken during the preliminary examination, and that this statement contained inaccuracies and inconsistencies. The case was resolved by the Supreme Court in its Second Division as an original administrative matter.

Facts

The respondent municipal judge conducted the preliminary investigation of two criminal cases: one for violation of Republic Act Number 946, the Blue Sunday Law, and another for violation of Republic Act Number 4119, the Workmen's Compensation Act. In both cases he dismissed the charges for lack of sufficient evidence to prove a prima facie case. The complainant, the Regional Labor Administrator, assailed the highly irregular manner in which the preliminary investigation was conducted. He argued that the respondent should have allowed the prosecution to present additional evidence and to cross-examine the witnesses.

The complainant also questioned the respondent's finding that five employees of the accused were not covered by Section 30 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, as amended, which requires an employer to insure employees to secure the payment of compensation and other benefits under the Act.

The record showed that the respondent relied heavily on the sworn statement of Honorio Elizaga, the bookkeeper of Samuel Trading, who said that certain employees of the accused were mere piece workers. The documentary evidence, however, revealed that three of those workers were actually insured under Workmen's Compensation Policy Number 2925 and Workmen's Compensation Policy Number 5078, issued to Samuel Trading on January 1, 1970 and February 2, 1970, respectively. As the Court observed, those persons would not have been insured if they were not regular employees within the intendment of the law, and this belied Elizaga's statement that they were not covered by the statutory requirement.

Issues

  • Whether or not the respondent municipal judge is guilty of grave abuse of discretion in the manner he conducted the preliminary investigation of the two criminal cases and dismissed them for lack of sufficient evidence to prove a prima facie case.
  • Whether or not the respondent is guilty of gross ignorance of the law for finding that five employees of the accused were not covered by Section 30 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, as amended.

Applicable Provisions

Section 30 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, as amended, is the statutory requirement the respondent was called upon to apply. The decision refers to it as requiring an employer to insure employees to secure the payment of compensation and other benefits to them under the Act. It bears on the case because the respondent's finding that five employees were not covered by this requirement was the very finding the complainant challenged.

The decision also states the test for exemption from that obligation in these words:

To exempt the employer from such obligation, the employment should be purely casual and is not for the purposes of the occupation or business of the employer.

This test governs whether the workers in question fell within the coverage of the Act, and it is the standard the respondent should have applied with greater care.

Ruling

On the first issue, the Court found that the respondent's reliance on the sworn statement of Elizaga was misplaced, because the documentary evidence of the two insurance policies contradicted the claim that the workers were mere piece workers. The Court held that under such circumstances the respondent should have examined Elizaga more extensively on the matter to ascertain his veracity and credibility. Even so, the Court did not treat this as grave abuse of discretion warranting disciplinary liability, and it dismissed the charges.

On the second issue, the Court applied the statutory test for exemption from the insurance obligation, holding that the employment must be purely casual and not for the purposes of the occupation or business of the employer. Since the workers had in fact been insured, the Court reasoned that they could not have been insured if they were not regular employees within the intendment of the law. The respondent's error in this regard was real, but the Court treated it as a lapse in care rather than gross ignorance of the law, and it admonished him instead of imposing a penalty.

Doctrine

A judge who conducts a preliminary investigation must examine the witnesses with sufficient care to ascertain their veracity and credibility, especially where documentary evidence on record contradicts their sworn statements. Reliance on a sworn statement that is belied by the documents is an error of judgment, but it does not automatically amount to grave abuse of discretion or gross ignorance of the law. For purposes of the Workmen's Compensation Act, as amended, an employer is exempt from the obligation to insure its employees only where the employment is purely casual and is not for the purposes of the occupation or business of the employer. The fact that workers were in fact insured under workmen's compensation policies supports the conclusion that they were regular employees within the intendment of the law.

Disposition

The Court dismissed the administrative case against the respondent municipal judge and admonished him to be more circumspect in the discharge of his judicial duties, to preclude any suspicion on the impartiality of his actuations.

Remember This

Memorize the line that an employer is exempt from the duty to insure only where the employment is purely casual and is not for the purposes of the occupation or business of the employer. Examiners use this case to test the distinction between a disciplinable offense and a mere error of judgment in preliminary investigations, and to test the coverage rule under the Workmen's Compensation Act.